dPoll Do you vote for nothing on STEEM?

in #dpoll4 years ago (edited)

dPoll Do you vote for nothing on STEEM?


dPoll Do you vote for nothing on STEEM_ bxlphabet.jpg

Have you ever gotten a lot of votes on your posts that are worth $0.0000? These people are voting for no rewards. You get no author rewards, and they get no curation rewards. What is the point of that?

There is no point.

You cannot stop people from voting for nothing like this, but you can make sure you do not do it yourself.

I am sure there are many ways to monitor your voting levels, but I find this a quick and easy method.

I first go to:

https://steemnow.com/upvotecalc.html

This tool by @penguinpablo allows you to find out the lowest level that will give your vote some value. I do not actually know what that level is since I do not ever want to vote so low.

When I vote for someone, I want to give some value to the author and get curation rewards for myself, no matter how small. Unless you have large sp here, we are all in a game of pennies. So I try to get all the small change I can.

I am using an example of a blog with 3000 sp.

Here is the vote value for 90% VP and 100% vote weight. You might get curation rewards and you might not. The person you vote for will get author rewards.

vote value.PNG

Here is the vote value for 90% VP and 35% vote weight. You might get curation rewards and you might not. The person you vote for will get author rewards.

vote value low.PNG

Here is the vote value for 90% VP and 2% vote weight. Nobody gets anything. Don’t waste your time.

vote value too low.PNG

After I know the lowest vote weight I want to vote at, I am then going to check my results here:

https://steemnow.com/@yourusername

I do not spend a lot of time on this, but every week or so I check to make sure my votes are giving me curation rewards. If not, I adjust the percentage or stop voting for the blogger at all.

NOTE: All the details of the reward curve and who votes before and after you come into play here, but I am keeping this as simple as I can. (Ha!)

How about you? Do you pay attention to your voting and curation rewards? Please let me know your experience, and give me additional information in your comment if you have any. I want to hear from you, especially if you have another method to figure this out.


  • I just vote and do not care about curation rewards, author rewards, or vote value.

  • I think my low vote weight votes might be too small now and I will check.

  • I vote so that I get the best curation rewards with a different method than shown here.

  • I vote so that I get the best curation rewards with a similar method to that shown here.

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for

  • I vote so that I get the best curation rewards with a different method than shown here.

Voted for

  • I vote so that I get the best curation rewards with a similar method to that shown here.

Voted for

  • I vote so that I get the best curation rewards with a similar method to that shown here.

Voted for

  • I vote so that I get the best curation rewards with a similar method to that shown here.

Voted for

  • I just vote and do not care about curation rewards, author rewards, or vote value.

Voted for

  • I think my low vote weight votes might be too small now and I will check.

Voted for

  • I just vote and do not care about curation rewards, author rewards, or vote value.

Voted for

  • I vote so that I get the best curation rewards with a different method than shown here.

My upvote around 80% and 100% with 100% vote weight is wortth approximately $0.008 USD and $0.009 USD. Sometimes $0.01 USD.
I do care about my upvote value, but I am not trying to maximize my curation rewards.
I upvote both manually and automatically. I use SteemAuto for automatic curation by following the @curie curation trail with a fixed voting weight of 50% above 90% voting power. I do this mainly to avoid keeping my voting power at 100% (in other words, to avoid wasting my voting power), because I don't always have time for the Steem blockchain to manually curate.
When I manually curate (mostly upvote), I often upvote content what I like. Even if it is more than 1 day old. I rarely downvote spam, scam and other abusive contents.

Very good plans, @xplosive. I like the way you are doing this and that you know your numbers. Curie is a good trail to follow. Do you get good reward from those posts?

Voted for

  • I vote so that I get the best curation rewards with a similar method to that shown here.

Voted for

  • I just vote and do not care about curation rewards, author rewards, or vote value.

Voted for

  • I just vote and do not care about curation rewards, author rewards, or vote value.

Hi @bxlphabet!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.124 which ranks you at #10003 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 96 contributions, your post is ranked at #26.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server