I had an "Inception" moment last night

in #dream3 years ago

So I dream a lot and even when the dreams are scary, I really enjoy it. It is one of my favorite parts of sleeping even if the dream results in me waking up screaming. It is like a free movie where I control the action. I frequently realize that I am dreaming while I am in said dream and then I do whatever I want with impunity, other times I get to visit friends and relatives who have long since passed away.

I dig em and am happy that my imagination is strong enough to get them almost nightly.


source

However, last night I had a situation that as far as I know has never happened before. I had a dream inside of a dream just like in the film Inception and it was kind of freaky. The way it worked was that in the first dream I was in a room where I thought I was alone and then an attractive girl was in that room with me, turns out it was one of my ex girlfriends, the only problem was that she was not nice...she was demonic and disfigured and possessed or something and she, like most evil things in dreams, wanted to harm me.


source

I don't know why I am able to identify this so often in my dreams but while i was scared in the dream i started saying "you're not real, you're not real, you're not real!" and then I did what I thought was waking up. Then my parents, apparently hearing me shout out while sleeping came into the room, as did one of my siblings, and also a couple of really good friends from when I lived in Thailand. We talked about my crazy dream for a while and there were some very Thailand-ish things going on outside of my bedroom window as well. It took me a while to realize the impossibility of all of these people being in the same place at the same time because one of my parents has never been to Thailand and another one of them passed away some time ago. This time it took me a little bit longer to realize it but I was able to put the pieces together and realize that this too was also a dream. Then I woke up.


source

In all of my life I don't recall this "dream inside of a dream" ever happening and while the first part started out quite scary I got over it pretty quickly with the assistance of my friends and family, who were also a dream. When I woke up the 2nd time, it was only the presence of my dog on my bed next to me that assured me that this was not also another stage of the dream. However, there is no reason why she couldn't become part of the dream as well so while this sounds a bit silly, I actually got up and wandered around my condo for a little while to confirm that I wasn't still dreaming.

68397093_387604298606575_7158424663712858112_n.jpg
Thanks little buddy!

I ended up having several other dreams last night as well, one of which was even scarier than the first one because I was a teacher in Thailand again in one of them - which was a job I absolutely hated.

Has anything like this ever happened to you? The power of the mind is so amazing to me and if you have had some crazy dream stories. I'd like to talk about it in the comments!

Sort:  

Yo he tenido sueños dentro de mis sueños también.

Una vez soñaba que el hombre que me gustaba estaba acostado en el suelo de mi cuarto cuando yo dormía sin ropa y me moría de vergüenza. Entonces él mismo me despierta de ese sueño y estabamos en un hospital (yo trabajo en un hospital) en ese momento estaba durmiendo en una clase jaja

"Is all that we see or seem...but a dream within a dream"…??? - Edgar Allen Poe

I've had that dream inside of a dream in the past. One was a dream about being asleep then (in the dream) I awoke to my bed shaking. I rose, looked out the window and saw what I thought had been a nuclear blast further north. In my mind I thought..."Well, they finally did it..."

Sensing that I was about to be killed by the ensuing shock wave, I jumped back into bed to more comfortably die in my sleep...

Then...I really woke up with my bed vibrating and a loud rumbling noise in the room - went to the window all confused and looked out. I didn't see a mushroom cloud, but the railroad tracks on a trestle bridge a short distance from my place, were giving off a high pitch ringing sound.

We were having a rare NYC earthquake! I didn't know it yet...found out later in day after waking up, because I had just gone back to sleep again.

I don't really remember my dreams at all. There are a few that stick out, but for the most part I just don't have that many. Either that or they are very short and because of that I can't really remember them. I have a feeling I might not be sleeping well. I know my wife was dealing with some allergy issues and due to her histamine levels she wasn't sleeping right. They finally got her on the right meds and the first night she had a dream she was so excited.

I barely ever remember dreaming, much less do I wake up because of them. whenever I do have a nightmare that wakes me up, it's an emotionally complex nightmare. it's never something simply scary.

a few months ago, I had dreamed my then wife was suddenly suffering from amnesia. she had forgotten about so much, including me, but she was back to a day when her mother hadn't died yet. I knew how she'd react to that news and I certainly couldn't let her "go back home". it was an incredibly painful emotional experience. eventually it got so bad, I woke up. that's how my nightmares go

today I had a vastly different nightmare which also got me to wake up crying, still purely emotional

to confirm that I wasn't still dreaming.

from now on, you'll never know for sure. haha

I had a false awakening, they're called, a few times. It was when I was lucid dreaming and I tried this technique which is like hitting the reset button. You can end up in a totally new setting but usually it's your bedroom. The technique is to hold your arms out lengthwise and start spinning. Don't close your eyes though! That will end the dream! When I did this once, my arms "crashed" as I ended up in bed in the new setting. It's pretty strange. It sounds like you needed a reality check after the 2nd awakening. Walking around wouldn't have been enough for me haha. I like to hold my nose and simultaneously try to inhale. Impossible but not so in the dream world.