GOING BLANK

in #dreem-wotwlast year (edited)

Before I go into the details of today's post, I want to thank @samsmith1971 for keeping this initiative alive and rebranding it. As someone who used to manage this contest/initiative, I understand the amount of time and effort that goes into making it a success. Sometimes there isn't the willpower to continue but luckily she and her team have been able to do just that and for that I say kudos!

I promised to participate in the contest mostly because I have been unable to participate in any community initiative for the longest time. I have been like this week's theme implies, blank–having no desire to follow through with most of the things I have been doing for the past two years.

GOING BLANK

It all started with the idea of moving away from Hive and trying something different. I wanted something different. Being 100% into crypto has its pros and cons. One of the things I desperately wanted to eliminate in my life was ‘uncertainty’. I wanted to build something outside the crypto that isn’t susceptible to the whims and caprices of the market.

At first, it seemed I had made the right decision. Well, I won’t say it was a bad decision either, but the venture turned out not only to be unsustainable in the long run. It also plunged me into debt covering the cost of my operation. I was on the verge of losing many relationships and a looming threat of public embarrassment. This left me blank.

There were days I did not know what to do. Every move I made was being countered. It got so bad I had to settle for inaction because the harder I tried the worst things become. Disconnecting from everything was the only way I could function (but at a price). It took me a lot to get out of this said pit of disperse. I am not totally sure I am out yet but I am taking each day as it comes.

BLANK SHEET

Starting over is never easy but for me, it is a great relief knowing I can pick up the pieces of my life and try again. It is not a totally new start. Thankfully, I have a few things I can leverage to stay afloat for a while. It would have been a totally different scenario if I had hit rock bottom, especially considering the current state of the world.

This has been a unique experience for me. In the past when bad things happen, I am not the first point of contact. It is either a loved one or a situation that affects everyone (I care about) generally. However, in this case, I am having to deal with some personal woes and it has taken me through a range of emotions. Nevertheless, I am grateful I would find a way out through the help of my support system.

Image Source

Sort:  

You were not wrong in decising to not depend on crypto altogether. You took a decision and it didn't prove to be best. This all is a part of life. We need to go on trying the modification. Whst future holds for us is unknown. The good thing is that you are still going on. Though with blankness, though with emotional consequences, yet keep moving is important.

I hope you will get out of your bad times soon.

Good luck

There is no problem without it ending someday because it isn't permanent. I hope you get out of it soon and possibly return fully to Hive so you can keep helping yourself too. I believe you going away then brought some reflection to you and here you are for the time being until you are fully back on your feet again.
All the best, Nonso!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @nonsowrites.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

It happens at times. Sometimes we feel like changing from one routine to another but at the end of the day, you realize it wasn't a good choice. It's not a bad thing if one decides to change from one course of action to another but most times we just don't get what we expected. At that point, you wish you never did it😔(or even thought about it)😃.

Nicely written @nonsowrites👌👍👍.
Popped in via #dreemport.

I really hope things get better for you soon :( ... Are you considering a return to Hive???

I wanted to build something outside the crypto that isn’t susceptible to the whims and caprices of the market.

These days, everything is on a whim, including fiat, real estate, and other possessions :( ...