No Gnomes Died

in #dreemer2 years ago (edited)

garden-gnomes-2614413_1920.jpg

Back on the legacy chain @snook did a podcast she called “Pants Are Optional”. She asked people to be interviewed but not to mention ‘Steem’ during the interview. She would create a list of offbeat questions to ask her guest. It was a way of getting to know people better outside of the context of the blockchain. Maybe even outside of reality.

I agreed to be on one of those shows. It started to go a bit off the rails when she asked me about how I’d respond to a zombie apolcalypse. It went a lot further off when she asked me what I thought about garden gnomes.

Take about 3 minutes to hear the exchange:

Snook Visits the Big Gnome

Those few minutes became the base for some future fun and debate. Snook was travelling through her home state of Wisconsin one day and came across this big gnome.

Apparently the gnome she encountered is not the largest in the world. My spies tell me that currently resides in Saanich, BC.

Explains this guy trying to claim refugee status in Canada. And heading to the left coast was the right place for him.

Cannabis_refugee.jpg

Pondering the State of Gnomes

That got her wondering about the state of gnomes in the world and in particular in my part of the world, given my stated ambivalence toward their continued existence. She became very concerned when she found out that the gnome population was dropping in this area and reluctantly concluded that I may be having a hand in the matter.

Considering this to be a serious gnome emergency she appealed to the big Wisconsin guy to send gnomes to the aid of those in my area.

First she was going to try to secure assurances from me that I would allow the gnomes to live safely in this area. Her idea of restarting the War of 1812 with gnomes would be a backup solution.

Trying to Reach A Peaceful Solution

She approached me on the matter. I calmly informed her that she could send her gnome army marching north but none would get across the border.

The Newfie Firing Squad would be on the job, not a one of her gnome allies would get across the border. Well, except for the refugee already noted.

Newfie_Firing_Squad.jpg

The Newfie Firing Squad is an elite division of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police. While famous for always getting their man, it was a well kept secret that they were even better at squashing gnome rebellions. All thanks to the Newfie Firing Squad division.

Choosing to protect the Wisconsin gnomes, she allowed them to stand down rather than face danger at the border.

Gnomes Keep Showing Up

Now, I have to confess, I had never really had much interest in gnomes. But you know how when something draws your attention you start seeing it more often? Yeah, that happened.

When I started creating books, it seemed every where I looked, there were …. Gnomes for every occasion under the sun. Had the world gone mad?

The Origin of Gnomes

Well, that did get my curiousity up. I started to look into just where these stoney (and sometimes stoned) little creatures came from. I soon learned they have been very popular in European myths and folklore for centuries. They were often mistaken for elves who had a different role in folklore.

I soon found I had gathered a lot of details about the life of gnomes. Did you know that Paracelsus, the sixteenth century Swiss alchemist first used the term ‘gnome’ to identify a class of nature spirit that lived deep in the forest and dark places?

Some believe his choice of the word came from the Greek word, gnosis meaning knowledge. These little creatures live hundreds of years and carry considerable wisdom that is passed down through the generations. Parcelsus declared gnomes to be the most important of the elemental spirits and that they had supernatural abilities associated with air, water and fire.

Known By Many Names

Stories about gnomes have been around under different names depending on the country they are found in. Swedes will refer to them as “Tante”, in Denmark & Norway they are “Nisse”.

In the Netherlands they are “Kabouter”. The wooden shoes the Dutch are famous for came from Kabouter teaching them how to make the shoes in the “Legend of the Wooden Shoes”.

The Gnome Journals

As I gathered a lot of interesting details about the life and times of gnomes, I decided I’d create a lined journal and share some of the details.

The journal comes in two sizes: 6”x9” and 8.5”x 11” with some of pages carrying gnome trivia for you to explore as your write in the journal. I added a draw and write set recently which gives you part of a page to draw your own visual on and then write.

500 Gnome_Lined_Journals.jpg

The covers will be an ongoing series of new covers depicting Gnomes at all times of the year starting with this Christmas.

So now you know how I ended up going from not really thinking about gnomes to creating books about them. It’s all Snook’s fault because well you know …. #snookmademedoit

NOTE: Header image from Pixabay. The Stoner Gnome and the Newfie Firing Squad images were originally from Pixabay and repurposed by me.

Hive_Badges.jpg

hobodiv.jpg

Shadowspub is a writer from Ontario, Canada. She writes on a variety of subjects as she pursues her passion for learning. She also writes on other platforms and enjoys creating books you use like journals, notebooks, coloring books etc.
Prompt A Day Tagline.png

She created Prompt A Day to share with others. You can subscribe to Prompt A Day to get started. You choose between the Daily Edition or the Mon/Thurs Edition

Sort:  

I had to click on this because of the title and picture. I LOVE GARDEN gnomes. I love little fairy gardens. They are just so cute. How interesting that you went down a rabbit hole about gnomes and ended up creating a little book with their tidbits in there.
You are in my own rabbit hole today. I follow @old-guy-photos, and he mentioned #sublimesunday, which led me to @dreemsteem. She posted a fun video to newbies on her Sunday(I am a newbie). This took me to her page to see more of what she is about, and I saw @Snook was mentioned for a blog contest, so clicked on her to see what is on that blog and I found you posting about gnomes from a reblog. Whew!

hahahahaa you are really doing well already!!! finding some great people to connect with!!!!!!!!! @snook and @shadowspub are some of the finest ladies on Hive

genuine, caring, helpful, fun, awesome!!!!

i'm glad that you're finding your way around hehehehe

I am glad that I found them through you. Now, I need to not lose the people I am finding. After watching your video, I wanted to see people who you recommend on your posts for different things.

hehehe there are more - depending on what you need!

so we will keep helping you to find your way :)

and of course your brother will be a great help too!!!

HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!

Welcome to Hive!! and many more rabbit holes in your life :D

I think there will be many more. Since, I new, I figure this is just another fun way to explore and meet all kinds of people with various interests. It is also fun, not gonna lie. :)

it really is fun and the best way to meet people here :D

if you're having fun - you're doing it RIGHT! HEHEHE

My niece is a fan of Gnomes as well and I found out recently keeps a journal. Was glad to learn that, gives me gift ideas for her.

Sounds like you're fitting right into Hive, always interesting twists and turns moving us around. The books I created with the tidbits are journals for people like you to write in. I create a variety of them. Am thinking of doing some others with trivia in sort of 'strange facts' of various themes.

You seem to be doing well as a newbie .. exploring and paying attention helps you grow. Come and join us on Thursday in the DreemPort server for Pimp Your Post Thursday. Looks like you have some posts to share.

That sounds good! Where is Dreemport? Is that a community also? It is a great suggestion.
How did you publish? That is a nice accomplishment. I just found another lady who self published on Amazon. There is so much to learn here. I love how so many people do so many things and from a variety of places and backgrounds.

DreemPort is a server on Discord. If you've not started using Discord, you probably should. Some cool stuff happens on there. The link to join DreemPort is https://discord.gg/EyRU7V6. It's @dreemsteem's server. Using the desktop app is usually best.

I have a server called The Ramble which is sitting forlorn and deserted these days. I started PYPT on there in 2017 and then took a break in 2020. When I brought it back in October just made sense to host it in DreemPort we're so aligned on our approach to where posts come from (literally any where)

I have been considering reconfiguring Ramble to align with my publishing .. but I have so much on my plate, there is no rush. Can be a lot of work building and maintaining.

I publish the books on Amazon as they offer the best fulfillment for printing and delivery. I also maintain a website where the complete catalogue is (100 and counting).

Remember that??

#snookmademedoit

What about #byewilma

"According to the best available science, male gnomes average about 15 cm in height, have a life span of 400 years, develop beards at an early age, are seven times as strong as a human, wear brightly colored clothing, and indulge in pipe smoking which contrasts starkly with their strict vegetarian diet. Female Gnomes tend to wear colors that blend with natural surroundings (gray or khaki). She wears a green cap with her braids sticking out until she is married after which her hair disappears under a scarf and darker cap. When 350 years or older she begins to show a light beard....she usually only stays at home and doesn’t wander about. This may also be the reason garden gnome sculptures most commonly depict males."

Source

Pants are Optional

I mean... you can't make this stuff up! Love it!!

!LUV !WINE @tipu curate !giphy Gnomes!

OH i have a lot more details in the books ... there was a very careful study done on the life and habits of gnomes. :).

I did use bye wilma sign off this week... finally


Congratulations, @wesphilbin You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @shadowspub.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/5 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.346

What memories this post holds! 😁 And so cool that you immortalized the gnomes in journals! 😃

sometimes my inspiration for ideas comes from the oddest and most unexpected places.

Its the gnome with the fat wrap standing in the field for me 🤣🤣 so ganster lol
I was smiling while reading this story and trying to imagine these cute tiny gnomes on the battle field.

a lot of fun was had by that little 4 minute exchange.That day in PYPT when everyone was changing their names to Gnome names.. some of them were really creative. Since than gnomes, green beans etc has been a bit of a standing joke since then.

I read the title and could not click fast enough :D

LOVE this post!!!!!

and that is as awake as I am right now. LOLL
More later :D

You just woke up and wrote more than 4 words.. you were excited.

Did. Was.

hahahaha yes - i remember all of this! and then everyone changed their names to gnome names in the server hahahaha

My gosh that was so much fun!!! those days - right?!?!? they seem like a lifetime ago. there was so much laughter!!! and @bluefinstudios always with the wisecracks that would WHOOOOSH over me. LOL i'm telling you i can see those days so clearly hahahaha

remember when the treasure hunt started??? oh my gosh when you said you wanted it to be part of your show - i was like WOWWWWWWWW she really likes it!!!!! hahahahaaha

geez... look how far we've come Shadows :)

this is so cool, right???

loved this post. loved traveling down memory lane with those gnomes hehehehe

Oh my that Gnome invasion day. Some of them were pretty creative. Although started to lose track of who was who but for their avatars.

you mean @bluefinstudio's wisecracks don't sail over your head still? He needs to up his game.

The treasure hunt was an interesting addition to PYPT and you have kept it going in many different ways. We keep growing and travelling the path and seem to keep landing on it no matter how many rabbit holes we go down.

Yep ...cuz our hearts are still the same!

We just keep coming up with newer ways to express that heart for community, fun and connection!!

And I think I catch them all but he will often say that there are many more that I miss hagahahhahahahah

Congratulations @shadowspub! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thanks.. I was after that little number flip on the badge. Who knows come January it might finally be the month one.

You're welcome @shadowspub, that's well deserved! January can only be better 😊👍
Have a nice weekend!

lol, if they had made it over the border, would they have found safe refuge with you???

NOT
A
SNOWBALL'S
CHANCE
IN
HELL
Who do you think summoned the Newfie Firing Squad?

The poor little guys! What did gnomes ever do to you?!?!?!

!PIZZA !ALIVE

@shadowspub! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (10/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

did you listen to the exchange between @snook and I in the recording? that set up the whole shtick from there forward. :)

Yeah, if the little guy protects you from zombies he's downright useful 😂 Send the Newfies after the zombies instead!

naw the green beans don't need the Gnomes .. the line was drawn at the border and the highly trained Mountie unit that keeps them out.

Then why don't they stop the zombies too!

!PIZZA

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@wrestlingdesires(1/12) tipped @shadowspub (x2)

Please vote for pizza.witness!