The Little Voice - Delivers Up a Happy Ever After!


Source 1& Source 2.Edited on Canva

Susan sat at the kitchen table, still flushed from the run. She looked at Danny’s back while he made them both a cup of coffee. She had been going over what she would tell him over and over as she ran. It wasn’t going to be easy to explain, but she owed it to him to be honest.

As he turned, holding the two coffee cups in his hand, she smiled up at him. “There you go, beautiful! One cuppa for me lady.” Danny placed Susan’s cup in front of her and smiled back.

“Thanks.” She picked the cup up in both hands enjoying the heat on her cold hands. “Umm, Dan…there’s something I need to tell you.” She looked at him as he took the seat opposite her. “And, I’m not sure how or where to begin.”
“Blimey Sue! This sounds ominous. You’re not leaving me are you?” He chuckled, but there was a slight strain to his words that belied the laugh.

“No…but…what I’m about to tell you is going to sound strange. All I ask is that you keep an open mind, and if at all possible, you let me talk without interruption.” She really didn’t know how to begin. The speech had been forming in her mind throughout the run, but now everything just sounded crazy. It was crazy! “I guess, there’s no way to start this other than just jumping in and beginning.” So she began.

She talked, and explained how she had returned to their bathroom this morning. That she had been there once before but had made assumptions about their relationship that had been so wrong. She walked him through her other life. The one where they had parted and she had gone on to follow her own goals. She had made many changes to her life in a pursuit of success, and on the surface she had succeeded. She had wealth. She had good health. She had what others regarded as the perfect partner.

And yet, this morning when she got up early and went to her bathroom, not the one they shared, but her other one in her other life, she was considering ending everything. She didn’t want to continue. She was even happy knowing that she had made the decision. Strange as that may seem.

Stranger still, she had got up and was going through the motions of her every day, brushing her teeth, thinking about how she would finalise everything. It was in this act that she had another strange encounter for the second time. There was a flicker of light and suddenly she found herself back in their bathroom on the very day, so long ago, that she had told him she was moving out.

She paused, looking at him. “Do you remember when you came into the bathroom this morning, how I was sitting on the rim of the bath?”

Danny stared back at her. He couldn’t seem to find any words. “Well, that’s when it happened. That’s when I returned. This time though, I asked you if you wanted to join me on my run. This time, I opened myself up. I didn’t think you’d actually choose to join me but I asked anyway.”

“And I said yes.” He replied.

“Yes, you did.” She smiled back at him. “You have always loved me. You have always been there for me. But this morning, the first time round, I wasn’t there for you…or me.

That’s now going to change. I have been delivered a second chance. I’m not going to waste it.” Susan got up from her chair and walked over to Danny cupping his face in her hands. “I’m going to learn how to love. To love you. And just as importantly, to love me.

That is…I think…what it’s all about.” And with that she delivered a heartfelt kiss; one that was received and reciprocated.

#dropintheocean (1).png

source image edited in Canva

Drop in the Ocean is a weekly show over on Discord in the BuddyUp server.

You can join us anytime by clicking here. When you first arrive you will be welcomed and directed to introduce yourself. After all, we want to know who our new buddy is :smiley:.

The Drop in the Ocean airs every Monday at 8pm (UTC) and together all the buddies discuss their individual posts on the word of the week.

This week's word is:

Delivery

This is the final instalment of Susan and Danny's story. You can read their earlier chapters, all influenced by the weekly Drop in the Ocean word of the week below:

Part 1 - Disconnected
Part 2 - Resolution
Part 3 - Ambiguity

#dropintheocean (1).png

If you are new to Steem and are still trying to find your feet, then there's a great community over on Discord that are there to help. All you need do is click the banner below, the one for Steem Terminal. Just hover your mouse and you'll see it change.

Steem Terminal is just one of many great communities. It has been set up to help. You can read more about it here and here.

#dropintheocean (1).png

SteemTerminalBanner.jpg

Sort:  

What a really nice delivery😊 I thought she was going to deliver a baby in the bathroom😂😂😂 so glad that she delivered all the love she has in a beautiful way.. kissing!

Hey @cicisaja, nicw to see you again. I thought I'd turn the story this way in time for Valentine's day. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

What a right time to deliver your story my dear @juliamulcahy 😉 I can feel the love is in the air

The purpose is not the destination but the journey itself. This simple truth can lead to pure happiness.
I love how you portrayed Susan's journey to learning how to love. It is a difficult joinery, a treacherous one, but oh so worth it.

Weirdly enough, it felt like I had a similar situation in a dream. I guess, we all, at some point of our lives go through this very journey.

Hey @blind-spot, it sure is worth it!

Very nice ending, @juliamulcahy :) I do love happy endings. This would make a great short film ;) Maybe @purplemaze can work with you on it ;) hehe It is a lovely, interesting story.

Congratulations @juliamulcahy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Awwww ..... I love it when I read something that makes me all restless in my legs! Just wanna jump up in Joy.

@juliamulcahy - that was just so unexpected in such a sweet, honest beautiful way.

Let's celebrate with a glass of wine ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

:) !tipuvote 0.1 hide