B-Sides: Fabric of our Lives

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Can I Get Some Water?!


pyramidborderfalse.png

Sometimes it can be fun to sample dialogue, chop it up, and think about it as more of an instrument within the song you're creating. For this track, I sampled a couple phrases from a very old "Taming of the Shrew" play on vinyl and built the dark lingering vibes off this kingly sounding person ordering his servants (I'm guessing? I know nothing of the play lol) to get him water. I also used the crashing sound of his servants scrambling in the beat.

When sampling, I usually capture some musical element or sound, but this is one of the few tracks I can think of where I sampled phrases only, building my own melodies off them later. I wanted to capture the anxiousness and franticness of the subjects, and so came the frantically moving bassline I played on my guitar. I have some very eerie, growly, drone-y synth as an ambient layer in the background, with a higher pitched lead going on that sounds kind of clumsy. Clumsy is how I imagine those guards after being ordered to fetch water.

The ambient synth I wanted a darker, more menacing feel to it. I guess it kind of represents the looming presence of our masters over our backs commanding and watching us......

Whoa!!! That got deep fast. At the time of making this song, I'm not positive if I was very conscious and aware of these decisions, or if I subconsciously made them and found out later where the motive behind creating them was. The brain is a strange place, and especially mine! As I write about this song, I'm thinking to myself: "Well played, my boy! But..... How did I think to do that?"

We may never know. For as intentional as the song feels, I have no idea why the hell I named it "Fabric of our Lives." I could humor some ideas, but it's a bit of a reach. I figure at least people will think I'm super profound, right? (did it work?)

pyramidborderfalse.png
Once again I thank you all for stopping by, checking out my jammy jams, and reading my ramblings. All the love I've gotten means so much, and really inspires me to reach higher and keep pushing. I can't help but think this is such a great time for creatives!!!! Peace and love steemfam.
pyramidborderfalse.png


Did you know?!?!?!?!


VFMsingle.png

mspwaves.jpg


I co host a radio show on @msp-waves called Voices from the Mountains #vfmradio. Every Saturday, 3-5am UTC you can hear my beautiful voice along with my host mates @intuitivejakob and @lpfaust. We get pretty silly, and you're sure to be entertained between the satire/comedy, music and energy readings. We are working on building a team up and we have some other big plans in store for the future! So excited to actualize our vision.

pyramidborderfalse.png

About the Author: Falseyedols is a musician, producer, audiovisual artist, blogger, radio host and curator (thanks to Steemit). Through a diverse range of skills and modes of art, Falseyedols aims to unite everyone through a common appreciation of the arts. If humanity can find a common ground, it is easier to see our similarities and thus get along. We are all people, after all! Decentralization and the blockchain may be exactly what the world needs to achieve unity!

pyramidborderfalse.png

Your brain on Falseyedols


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)