A PHANTASMIC ADVERSARY Poetry Slam Contest [Week #27] | (An Originally Spoken Poetry)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


kudzu_rising_by_mcallisterbryant-d2y65pk 4.jpg

Image source


We wield carnal swords
against ethreal foes
entities without arms or toes
hurling spears at nemesis within
unknown to the conscience
panting in combat
with the many face adversity
who cackles at our struggles
to obliterated his existing inexistence


Ours is a phantasmic adversity
an abstract beelzebub lurking
strapped in the shadows
a dark knight with eyes of horror
causing turbulence to the mind
like the headless warriors
etched to the imaginations
seen only by the fear brewing inside


The ear is buzzing with guttural screeching
a clashing of howls and yowls
schizophrenic and hysterical
the sanity is fading away
in wars with phantasm being
littering abstract battlefields
built by yours truly
the prison we wither therein
is the handiwork of our ignorance


Fiction is a fact
battling beasts without flesh
a figment of our anxiety
in lands far away from this cosmos
errie ghouls and gnomes
we wrestle shadows
and imaginary enemies
locked away in trances

RwmChpS.png

















kudzu_rising_by_mcallisterbryant-d2y65pk 4.jpg

kudzu_rising_by_mcallisterbryant-d2y65pk 4.jpg


Written, Spoken & edited

By @Josediccus

20/9/2018


"Steemian Mantra"


Visit my blog for more amazing poems & content

JOSEPH C.IKECHUKWU


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

DQmcGTgE9ztQ7QmWESyE7uVqLrUqfbAa1fsTCod6dmsFYjP.gif

Sort:  

Loving this poem @josediccus. I also entered scuzzy slam this week last minute ;-) It seems like we have tackled similar subject matter my friend. I too would like to highlight these lines as a great metaphor for the battle against the inner critic.

Fiction is a fact
battling beasts without flesh
a figment of our anxiety

Also, loved these images:

abstract beelzebub lurking

ethreal foes
entities without arms or toes
hurling spears at nemesis within

Nice work!

Hahaha you entered too? Wow well I love @scuzzy's contest and it help me prunes my ideas and concept and also help me learn how to work within a theme really.

Yeah thank you for highlighting those feets my friend, I was thinking the metaphors are not enough to convey my points, but,

Thank you so much my friend, I'll like to see your entry as well.

"Fiction is a fact
battling beasts without flesh"

Refreshing and so timely! Upvoted, my friend.

Thank you so much my friend 😀😀😀

Welcome. Albeit i am far more concise in poetic expressions, it is always interesting to embrace another style.

Amazing as usual. Awesome entry @josediccus!