You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Team Australia Christmas Party! (My first Steemit MEETUP!)

Still, people get kidnapped every day. Going out, the process getting on public transportation, all that is a new experience for me. Being disabled, I can no longer drive. So going out a meeting people, organized or not is a scary thing for me. I think of worst case scenarios. The good thing about that was one time I actually saved me in my friend from getting robbed. There are so many people that are coming up missing here in the US because of online meet UPS regardless. So it's a scary thing when you're disabled and you don't have a husband or somebody they can do it with you. So for obvious reasons I can see why you're not scared. Duh. Sorry dumb question I guess. #snappluscomment

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Aww that’s true, with all the scary stories in the US I’d be scared too🙁.. I wouldn’t be able to go myself, I had to have someone with me.
How did you save yourselves from being robbed? 😱

Posted using Partiko iOS

There was a guy on a hiking trail and when we arrived we were getting things together in the vehicle so it took us about 10 minutes to even get out but I noticed that he had already started on the trail. By the time we got our the car and had all of equipment it was 10 min. At the trail head I saw the gentleman. I could tell. he lived on the streets but he was a little organized. He had a walkie talkie. Not many people carry those to day. So I felt like maybe there was somebody else on the trail. While my friend and I were looking at the trailhead post, it's where it tells you any the hazards the difficulty of it and any animals that you may or may not run into. He came around right behind her and I like reading the posts sign. On the sign it says no dunk tanks. My friend and I always laugh about that because we always say why would they have dunk tanks out here and what would they be doing with them for them to ban them question work because it's odd thing the sea on a trailhead post. I dropped my Electronic cigarrette that I know how the battery pops out of and I made a huge like spectacle of it. To get him to backup away from us and I said look did you see that Like very animated, he almost an expect it. I said no dunk tanks did you bring any dunk tanks. And while he was sitting there laughing I said Liz can we get back to the car I need to fix this my E- cigarrette, well it's like a tank and you use cartridges, I knew it pops loudly when it falls, its metal. I created a distraction and odd set of situations to confuse him long enough not to have the courage to pop a knife out and steal my camera and equipment. When we walked back towards the vehicle I saw him still standing by the sign. My friend Liz was confused but she knew something wasn't right about the situation and I told her why I did everything that I did. And it all made sense. They do that . they go where people are Urban explore and they steal people's cameras I know I saw a countdown video showing people and YouTube get their stuff stolen when their live streaming and everything. You could tell he was like huh???

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow! So glad you knew how to create a distraction and you knew with guy feeling! Did you have a lot of gear with you? We’re you doing a full video shoot?

Posted using Partiko iOS

I had a My DSLR camera and then I had my go pro my Mic, stuff like that camera bag, assorted accessories

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah yeh dslrs are huge and many lenses.. I’m always wondering if I should take them overseas and then don’t end up doing it cos I’ve had stuff stolen before of even smaller things.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Honestly. Take the essentials. Taking too much I left stuff at my mom's when I went to Florida and it took forever for my mom to send it. Ship it out.

Posted using Partiko Android