Back in the mountains for Easter holiday!

in #easter3 years ago

If there's one holiday season in the year that I don't want to miss, and must insist be spent in a certain way, then it's the Easter holiday. Since I was a little kid, my family has spent Easter at one of our family cabins in the Norwegian mountains.

And how could one not get in the right mood with sights like these?!

Easter chicken Norway Sirdal 2021 Fredrikaa hive peakd.jpg


On the road to our family cabin about an hour and a half of driving from Stavanger, we pass by this cabin which for as long as I have lived have upheld the tradition of building and decorating a yellow easter chicken out of snow

I'll happily spend Christmas or any other holiday somewhere else than usual. But when Easter comes, there's only one place I'll want to be, at our family's winter cabin with the right food, treats, and hopefully a lot of sunshine.

So after 8 days at my family's place in my hometown of Stavanger, we got up early this Saturday and hit the road to the mountains. As I've said before, it's one of the upsides of a pandemic to be able to work from wherever you have an internet connection.

Arriving early at the cabin after an hour and a half in the car, there was no way we could not go for a few hours on skis with weather like this!

sirdal fidjeland cover photo shiva fredrikaa hive.jpg


Shiva looking as majestic as ever in the terrain just a few kilometres from our cabin

There's something unique about skiing this time of the year in the mountains. On sunny days, it will be hot enough that you can easily ski with just a t-shirt. So even though the snow tends to be wet and less ideal for cross-country skiing, it is more than compensated for by the comfort and pleasure of skiing in great weather!

received_137147941673487.jpeg


My dad and I passing going though a mountain passage around 1000 meters above sea level.

I've said before that cross country skiing to me is 1/3 exercise, 1/3 pleasure, and 1/3 mental therapy. On a day like this, it is safe to say that it was mostly the two latter!

So although I've got strict instructions to take it easy following my illness with Covid, there was no way I could help but go for at least 40 kilometers.

IMG_20210327_165107.jpg


Back at the cabin after the ski session. Nothing beats some quality time in the sunny side of the cabin! Especially not when you have a fluffy friend on your lap :)

But as nice as it is to ski, few things beat some quality time in the sunny side of the cabin! I suspect this is where I'll be spending the majority of my time in the week ahead.

Shiva_cabin_view_sirdal_fredrikaa_hive.jpg


How can you not feel relaxed with a view, environment and company like this?

Especially now when I still feel tired and with some brain fog due to the after-effects of covid. I'll have to see whether or not I'll keep up my promise to myself of making a new post every day, or if I'll look to take some time completely off and just relax with the family.

In any case, it's going the be an enjoyable and much needed holiday :)

What are you all doing for Easter?

Fredrik

Sort:  

La verdad se ve que reina la tranquilidad, mas cuando existe nieve, gracias por compartir.

Den kyllingen 🐣😂

No doupt you will enjoy up there for the easter, hope the weather will be on your side!
But I don't want to know how they made that chicken yellow. :D
Thanks for sharing, happy holidays!