Easter in Serbia

in #easter11 months ago

Hello everyone and welcome to another post! This weekend we celebrated Easter here in Serbia and since I've been sharing posts related to that for few years now, I decided not to break the chain so here are some photos, mostly of our Easter eggs, lol.


On Good Friday we colored the eggs for Easter using the traditional method. I did this with my mom since I was a kid and it's one of my favorite tradition that we share and she did this with her mom when she was a kid. First we colored a few red eggs and then we used different tiny plants, leaves and flowers as decoration and colored those eggs with onion skin which is a natural way to color the eggs and my personal favorite!


We used yellow and purple onion skin so we got two different shades and I think it turned out pretty good - maybe not aesthetically perfect but they definitely have uniqueness to them! To get that shine we used a little bit of oil on a cotton cloth and rubbed each egg as a final step of the process.


We kept our Easter decoration pretty simple with two baskets and a little bit of grass to display the eggs and I actually really liked it like this. On Easter day we had a family breakfast and egg tapping is a must as part of the tradition. Kids usually make nests for the Easter bunny and the first thing my niece and nephew did when they woke up is, of course, checking their nests to see what they got! I still remember the joy of doing this when I was a child, as I am get older I also get more nostalgic about stuff like this and this year was not different, hehe.


7.jpg

In every post related to holidays in Serbia, I always try to explain why we celebrate them on different dates... Serbia is mainly Christian Orthodox country and our church uses Julian calendar compared to many other countries that use Gregorian calendar. That's also the reason why we celebrate Christmas in January 7th and why we celebrate Easter on a different date as well.


8.jpg


Thank you all so much for stopping by! To those who celebrated Easter, I hope you had a great time with your loved ones! :)


nikolina.jpg

Sort:  

Hey @nikolina!
Actifit (@actifit) is Hive's flagship Move2Earn Project. We've been building on hive for almost 5 years now and have an active community of 7,000+ subscribers & 600+ active users.
We provide many services on top of hive, supportive to both hive and actifit vision. We've also partnered with many great projects and communities on hive.
We're looking for your vote to support actifit's growth and services on hive blockchain.
Click one of below links to view/vote on the proposal:

  • peakd
  • ecency
  • hivesigner
  • Hristos Vaskrse :)
    !LUV

    Vaistinu Vaskrse! :))

    Love those eggs! They really came out beautifully.

    Thank you so much! :)