Moral Compass is The Title Of This One

in #ecency3 years ago (edited)

The other day I found a content producer who upvotes only upvotes his own content. I've seen it before, we all have, not like there's a written rule or anything against it. But this dude was on some NnNęEeEXxtTt level shit.

At just under 50k HP, his max voting strength was around $0.46. I know this because before I came along, he only had one comment under each of his cryptocurrency articles—from his self (to his self). Twice a day. His blog is Bittrex screen shots of candles.

No rules against that either

This is where it gets next level. After posting his content, he responds to himself by pasting a link to his previous article in his own comment section to which he upvotes that too—another $0.46 for a grand total of $0.92 per article. I scrolled through about a months worth of his content, he's consistent—twice a day, same routine, no commenting or appreciating anyone else's content for a grand total of $1.84 per day. We engaged in conversation.

More like a debate

I told him I was impressed. I've seen a lot of shit around here but I hadn't seen this technique until now, the ol' self commenting - self voting technique. I even offered the producer his very own tag. I spent a lot of time developing it: #selfcommentingselfvoter. Some other stuff was said—I'm pretty sure he got offended.

He told me it isn't written anywhere that what he's doing is against the rules and proceeded "If there was more interactivity with the content I produced on Hive, I wouldn't need to do such things. But there's nowhere else to place my mana voting, so better on myself than nowhere." We went back and forth a few times.

My last response to him was a bunch of stuff I didn't send. I ended up deleting it and dropped the whole thing

But

Apparently I wasn't the only one in favor of my position—that debate profited me $1.43.

Final score:

@dandays - 1 @saidcontentproducer - 0

That can't really be his best ROI option can it? At just under 50k HP, his wallet value is somewhere around 6k. At $1.84/day, in order to bring that investment back to even, he'll need to continue his technique for 3,260 days or nine years.

Anything's possible I guess

Or you could just consume original content outside Cointelegraph from any of the several thousand Hive content producers and share your invested wallet balance with them—$0.46 goes a long way. By sharing that $0.46 upvote twenty times a day with anyone other than yourself, you'll be on the receiving end of curation rewards as well—daily ROI and you won't be labeled a self centered bastard who says "there's no interconnectivity on this platform" because you'll actually be connecting innerly with someone other than yourself.

But there's no rules against it

True. There's no rules that say you shouldn't be a self centered prick and making yourself known to a community for communal reasons is less beneficial than making yourself unknown to a community for non-communal reasons.

There's no rules that say you shouldn't fuck your sister either

I don't have a sister so I've never really had to weigh in on that one but if I did, I would say 'don't! She's your sister!' So why you wanna fuck the platform?

We're like family here

There's ways to get your ROI other than being a #selfcommentingselfvoter. Finding content you appreciate and sharing your wallet balance with that content producer is one—there's a bunch. Finding and upvoting worthy comments on an authors page written by a consumer who seemingly spent a quality amount of time consuming that content is another one. You could follow curation trails at Hive.vote and allow curators to do all the work for you. You could stake tokens, use your weight to promote under valued content, power up and power down according to market trends, there's quite a few options. Each of which will likely add to your following as well who will, in time, add value to your wallet—ROI! #Selfcommentingselfvoter didn't make the list.

Like that sister thing

How many paragraphs we got now, 12-pack and random little italic sentences and still no images? I don't know why I keep doing those random sentences like that by the way.

Like this one

I'll share a few (10) sunsets—total clickbait. I just snapped this first one day before yesterday, it wasn't too difficult. What I did was look out the back window—there it was, glowing across the sky. I grabbed my phone, opened the back door (it was locked, I unlocked it), stepped outside, pointed and clicked—didn't zoom or enhance it or anything.

5F17FDD99D6544AA840CC5FCDD95D601.jpeg
Knoxville, Tennessee

Today's Thanksgiving in my country and, contrary to popular misconception, we don't revere an attempted genocide of Native Americans more than 300 years ago today. We're thankful for what completes our lives today, November 26th, 2020. Today I'm thankful for Pura, my senses, everyone whose helped me become the person I am, God, hot water, my fingers (middles especially), I'm thankful for a lot of things. All of you who don't abuse this platform:

Thanks!

Giving—use any of the images in this article, please do. Happy Thanksgiving! Thanks—tag me if you do so I can see what you did with the place.

img_5088.png
Ilkley, England

img_5089.png
Las Vegas, Nevada

9589448188284787B747A0C79557027C.jpeg
San Pedro, California

img_5091.png
Potrero, Costa Rica

img_5092.png
Amarillo, Texas

img_5093.png
Ruskin, Florida

img_5094.png
Tombstone, Arizona

img_5095.png
Long Beach, California

img_5096.png
Long Beach again. She shoots! She scores!!

4649350B-ED00-4720-9AF1-DF0F8ECC6F96.jpeg

Sort:  

All sorts of people have their own different ideas on what they're doing but I hope he has fun with all that and you are having quite a bit of fun doing your thing so I think it all works out in the end.

Very enlightening debate you did have their good sir.

I'm glad you think so @ganjafarmer, thanks for checkin this one out. We all have different ideas, that sure is the truth. A buncha no ideas runnin around like we know everything.

Ain't it great?

It absolutely is keep posting man

Those are the worst compasses, they always get me lost!

Also, how are we supposed to shame and shun this individual if you don't name them?

Nice sunsets! I used to go for sunrise shots until I realized sunsets allowed me to avoid all that early morning bullshit.

Lost? When? Just now or a different time?

I figured this was blast enough. Some mining for whoever is that concerned. Sometimes people just can't understand.

Anytime a photographer wants to compliment me and crack a make me laugh out loud joke, you know where I'll be.

Any time I consult one! I'd rather navigate by the sun(set) anyway.

Aren't we suppsed to downvote zero effort shit like that?

To each their own. I've never personally used my downvote trigger. But if I did.. Oh for sure.

I did it a few times on that other platform to the accounts that were going around just downvoting people randomly but haven't used it since.

I got that clip down to 10n1/2 minutes now. I'll be able to shave off maybe two more, probably only one. Gotta tunes still. Lotta work man. No wonder they pay so much in Hollywood.

Damn, that's some nice progress. No more Chinese Democracy jokes for you! That's already short enough that Free Bird would work!

So what do you plan to do with your opus when it is complete?

Cool pics, nice sunrises.

I have a minimum syllable count I'll respond to--7. According to my calculations: 🧮✖️📱

You missed it by ONE!

How is this, Cool pics, nice sunrise, you got any moon pics.

Of course! They're in the NSFW feed.

You got me, what is NSFW feed?

You know jokes suck when they have to be explained, right?

NSFW - Not Suitable For Work.

I've got an idea for you, take the NSFW file, which is obviously full of shitty pictures, and put it in the trash. Henceforth, take the shitty picture, which you have determined is shitty by viewing it before placing it in the NSFW folder, and immediately trash it, do not stop at the NSFW folder, do not collect any dust, and do not make me open this folder any longer so that I can see all of my shitty photos again.

My man, you need to simplify things. 😁😁

The uh. The uh. The post here thing you did? It uh. I did the laugh thing there. Couple times.

I uh don't uh can't explain. Musta been someone who looks like me. I uh also laughed. We're laugh buddies now.

That "Well Shit!" One you did.. was that a crab? It was a Well Shit crab wasn't it?

I just made it like that to confuse people and attract eyes. When these strange thumbnails are set amongst all the other thumbnails on the platform, they stand out. Part marketing, part entertainment.

Crabless then, Well Shit Crabless, got it!

Eh, my awtokrect had "we'll" instead of "well." Had to correct that shit.

OMG, my you are a piece of work.
I read your post out loud so @thebigsweed and I could laugh out loud together.
In fact, we are still laughing. Your sister thing?... we both stopped laughing for a big , WHOA!!

I liked all of your calculations, that dude is either really dumb or maybe just lazy idk.
So glad you are thankful for your fingers (middle one), I don't think you could make it without them.
Something tells me you use said finger, A_LOT>

Beautiful sunrises, those pix got me thinking of Florida.
Enjoy your day .

'WHOA!'

Must be that great minds think alike thing.. I'm still doin it ain't I--typing in these small italic sentences.... not sure what this is about @farm-mom.

My autocorrect had farm-mon just now which is a few days early, it's Farm-Fri you degenerate awtokrect!

I sure do appreciate you letting me know what you think, really. The truer the statement, typically the funnier it is but that post button kicks my butt (publicly the curse words fly. Personally, however, with the blockchains coolest grandma--ain't hap'nin!) every time like 'man I sure hope I'm not the only one who thinks this is funny!' :blue face emoji: <--that's in lieu of a handful of middle finger emojis because you're still the coolest grandma on the blockchain. 😉

Thanks for keeping an eye on me @farm-mom, I hope the two of you enjoyed your Thanksgiving together--I'm thankful we 'met.'

Without actually having a sister, I could be wrong but I'm willing to bet I nailed it ("it" not sister)!

Good day to you.
Yes, we had a really relaxing and fun/food filled day, although I woke up feeling a little sad because this was the first time ever I was not surrounded by my family on Thanksgiving. But the sweed got me on track and hugged me a little more often. Always makes me smile.
Thanks to modern technology (facetime and google duo,) I was able to see and talk to them all throughout the day.
Thanks for stopping back.

You didn't think I was going to leave it there, did you?
Ready to hear it again, you don't pull any punches, you tell it like it is, you make me laugh, you give me new stuff to learn and explore, at times you're over the top, your helpful, your sincere, and last but not least, you're happily married. What one of those things about #dandays is not to like.

Let's get back to telling it like it is, holy shit, I wonder if this clown will continue with his routine. My guess would be yes. Some people find that the beauty of this digital era is the ability to hide behind a computer, no name, no face = no consequences.

Good for you calling out this individual!!

Enjoy your day and thanks for the giggles.

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6.. ok, this one's worthy. Shoooot. Your short comment was just a continuance of the comedy. That was funny!

Good morning my man! I hope the two of you enjoyed your game hens, hard to believe you didn't. I hope all this stuff goes away sooner than later so that gorgeous dining table of yours gets filled back up to normal capacity.

I really appreciate the kind words dude--thank you! Tell it like it is / happily married and everything in between, that made my day. Plus ya'all got to laugh together, talk about icing!

PS - just don't ask me what day it is!

I'll keep the rawness coming, sir, promise! But I expect an ROI on my rawness in the form of all those informative articles you've been releasing lately. Bravo, sir! You really know how to keep our attention and your style is fun to watch evolve.

Much love from Knoxville @thebigsweed, thanks again for appreciating my content, kind responses like this make the post button a little more approachable.

PSS - Thanks a lot for the reblog too

It's funny that you say, your style is fun to watch evolve. Yesterday morning while talking with #farm-mom she said basically the same thing, and I told her how much I appreciated those words, same goes for you, thanks. I should have paid a little more attention in Ms. Lex's English class, and I could have been writing like you from the very beginning.

The hen game hens were good but not as good as a turkey.

Just practicing that strike through thing

Boy am I a quick learner! 😁

There you go again, making me laugh.

Great stuff, highly entertaining. Like watching a journalist jump into a rap battle. It is easy to see why your rabid fans are so, well, rabid. Content like this can absolutely destroy my productivity, thank you, thank you. Hat's off and a deep, respectful bow.

Firstly, I just checked out your Rocket Stove and you've got no productivity issues, that was very descriptive man, well done.

Secondly, if you're gonna continue these outwardly friendly, sincere and appreciative responses, you're hereby summonsed to stop by more often! And thanks for the HBD!! That's so cool, no one's ever done that before.

Thirdly, well, mainly because it comes after secondly but more importantly, thanks for stopping by @paradoxtma, I'm glad you enjoyed this article. Have a great weekend.

Don't be a stranger

my fingers (middles especially)

This one got me LOL... 🤣
You should consider standup comedy as a side gig
Happy Thanksgiving to you and Pura!

Good morning @wittywheat! The return of my favorite wheat.

Glad you were able to get some laughs out of this one, the truer the statement, the funnier it is (usually, they can be the most hurtful ones too I guess).

:secret: When I release an article like this I'm always 'man I hope I'm not the only one who thinks this is funny!'

Thank you! I hope everything around you gives you reason to be thankful as well. Enjoy your weekend wittywheat, don't be a stranger.

Yay! 🤗
Your post has been boosted with Ecency Points.
Continue earning Points just by using https://ecency.com, every action is rewarded (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).

Support Ecency, check our proposal:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Thanks for keeping an eye on me @ecency @good-karma.

Well, after this post... I'm now suspecting you should be the proud owner of a magnificent tan after so many great beaches photos. Hahahaha

Good morning @por500bolos! We woulda been rockin some tans back when I shot those images but that was then. We've been in Tennessee now since they kicked us tf outta England due to Covid. Been here since August and I've had the heater on since about September.

🥶 brrr

I see I'm not the only one releasing a rant recently. This article of yours seems to fit the mold. I love that 'love/hate' image but the Turkey hugging that lady at the end stole the show.

Enjoy your weekend, always a pleasure when you stop by.

!BEER
for you

Cheers @eii! Happy Friday.


Hey @dandays, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I'm virtually smashed. Thanks @beerlover.

Congratulations @dandays! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10000 comments. Your next target is to reach 11000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thank you! See you at 11k @hivebuzz.

You're welcome @dandays! Yeah, see you there 😁