You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I guess I'm losing it (whatever it is)

in #ecency3 years ago

I wrestle with that snake myself. I wish you the strength to turn right if the liquor store is to your left, if only for tonight.

I'm sorry about your friend.

Cute house though!!!! It looks like it's in really good shape too. Lots of property, and even a bit with enough sun to grow veggies. That was a score.

Sort:  

Thank you so much @owasco, I've been in plenty or rehabs, so in my head I know what to do, but right now, my heart isn't into it. And incidentally, the nearest liquor store is about ¼ mile from here, and you can get there by going either right or left ha ha ha...🤣

I wondered for years who in their right minds would buy those little one shot bottles, and now I am one of those crazy people. I buy two a day, and know where the cheapest prices are. I don't pour until the liquor store is closed. Covid has been really hard. No meetings, no socialization, lots of BS. It was easier when the restaurants had to close early. Good luck!!!

Yepper, that is one thing that helped me keep from excess, Once I'd broken my 11 yrs clean, I quickly found that more than two drinks, especially in quick succession, and I would not only be pretty much worthless the next morning, but also nearly sick.

Unlike the bad ole days, when I started drinking vodka straight outta the bottle as early as I wanted, and kept on going as long as I had money or could beg/panhandle for enough to get the next drink.

So now, even when things are good, I don't drink until I turn on the evening news (which is enough to make anyone run screaming to the liquor store).
I'll have my 2 mixed drinks, go to bed and read, then get up the next morning feeling fine.

Or that has been how it's been for quite a while now. RIGHT now, I have about 2 drinks worth in the fridge. There is nothing stopping me getting more, but me.
Thanks again @owasco my friend. I wish you the strength you need as well