Sugar Free Challenge - Day One

in #ecotrain6 years ago

As I predicted, going without coffee and creamer was almost impossible! Sometimes that hot cup of sweetness is all that gets me out of bed in the morning so I don’t expect this to be a habit that I will continue after this week. Coffee and creamer may have to be my one guilty pleasure - life is too short to cut out everything you love!

But I feel that I am going to be able to cut out or find substitutes for a lot of other sugary temptations! I already found two great drink alternatives:

Sugary Soda > Carbonated Club Soda
Junky Juices > Fruit Infused Water

For lunch, I had a homemade chicken and white bean enchilada with a side of salty chips! It may not look the most appetizing but it wasn’t half bad!

After lunch I took some time to relax… after all, it is a cold and lazy Sunday! What better day is there to stay indoors and chill? Of course, relaxing and browsing the Internet brings about a craving to snack… and snacks tend to be high in sugar! I chose to have a small bowl of frozen mango - it was very sweet and the cold made it feel like I was eating a dessert/popsicle!

Dinner was baked chicken, roasted potato slices, squash from the garden, and fresh strawberries!

After dinner I reflected a bit about my day and what I discovered. One thing I learned is that tastebuds can become desensitized much more than I realized. What I mean by this is that naturally sweet foods like fruit can taste less sweet when you are accustomed to eating artificially sweet treats. I noticed when I ate some fruit that it didn’t taste as sweet as I feel it should have and I think that’s because I am so used to sugar being in my every day food (even if I don’t add it personally but it is made with sugar). I’m looking forward to seeing if and how my tastebuds change over the course of this week (and hopefully beyond)!

Now I’m off to bed! Sweet dreams (but not too sweet)!


First photo from Pexels and used under the CC0 license. Second photo taken by @kiaraantonoviche and may be shared/ reposted with proper accreditation.

Join the SteemitHomesteaders.Slack community today!

Proud passenger of the Steemit EcoTrain!

Follow @kiaraantonoviche

Sort:  

I've never actually had coffee creamer - is it very sweet?

Do you ever have coffee just with regular milk?

Yes the creamer I drink is VERY sweet and usually flavored like caramel or mocha. I have tried coffee with milk but never liked it, it seemed to just water down the flavor without adding anything special! I still have to find my perfect coffee additive - the search continues lol!

If you don't mind, I'll join you in this. Been meaning to give up sweets for a while.

Awesome! Good luck!

Might I suggest adding some cacao “butter” to your coffee? It is a healthy way to give you a creamy sensation and delicious chocolate flavor. There is no sugar and no dairy in it.

I was able to quit sugar and no longer crave junk foods. Check out Bulletproof Coffee and the Bulletproof Diet

My family will verify that I have made profound positive changes - a former sugar addict and vegetarian. Now I sleep great, am 4 sizes smaller, have a happy outlook, and a can-do attitude. I only want to share my experiences.

Death by Chocolate? I’ve considered it

Have your Life, and Chocolate too!

If you do decide to order Bulletproof products, I’d appreciate if you use my referral code here

I have never tried chicken with strawberries. It seems to me delicious :-)

congrats for getting going!
sometimes i use coconut cream for coffee.. it does change the flavour, but its delicious!

I think balance is the key (as almost always). Don't feel bad about enjoying your coffee the way you like it.
I made it a personal rule to not drink my calories in my everyday life (parties and special occasions is a different story). I mostly drink white or green tea and water. I don't have a caffeine habit, but I do enjoy the occasional cup of joe with milk in it.

If you've done this before you'll know that once you've gotten used to the natural sweetness of fruit, actual candy and soda will reach an almost disgusting level of sweetness. At least, that's what I notice every time I complete a fast. It's kinda neat, how easy it becomes to break free from such an addiction.

I take mine with just raw milk half and half like @ pennsif love it though...tried to fast just today and ended up breaking down for my coffee and cream only...i am so weak ...great job on the sugar...i gave it up some time back and happily with it my neck problems and other issues...:)
Oh Happy Day! so excited it is downright cold today...for us, high in the 60s for South Central FL that is cold...
Melissa