Small ways I'm trying to reduce waste

in #ecotrain3 years ago

Hello everyone! In this post I will share a few small ways I am trying to reduce waste and make better choices. It's far from perfect (if that even exists) but I feel like a few small changes are better than none.


First of all, I want to say that in my household we still produce a lot of waste but instead of trying to convince or change anyone else, I am just going to focus on things I can do myself and hopefully inspire at least some of my family members by actions rather than just words.


When it comes to cosmetics/skin care, I will slowly replace them for more sustainable options as I use them up. I have this microfiber make up remover glove to use instead of make up removal wipes. I would also like to get reusable cotton rounds at some point. Luckily, there a lot of local small brands that make their own skin care (and other) products so it's a lot easier to get my hands on them now than few years ago for example. I already tried some handmade soaps in the past and I got another one. Ideally, I would love to have just the most important products that are all handmade and natural. Another great thing to always have on hand in coconut oil, I only have a little bit left but I'll definitely get another jar.
Not only are these products more sustainable and better for the environment but they are also so much better for us - using natural products instead of the ones that have ingredients that we cannot even pronounce is very important. When it comes to make up, I don't buy it often and I try to keep it simple but since I buy affordable make up products, they all come in plastic packaging. I still need to figure this one out but something I managed to keep up with these past few years is not buying make up that is tested on animals. I would also love to try making some products at home from a few simple ingredients such as face and hair masks. I already tried making body scrub and it has been quite good!
When I dived deeper into this environment topic and all the issues regarding waste we, humans, make and how we affect our planet, it was quite overwhelming. Replacing all the plastic or 'bad' products at once can be rather expensive and unrealistic as well as changing your lifestyle/habits over night. So I thought about one or two small things I can do that will be easy and get me started on this journey. I was never big on using plastic bags but I payed extra attention to this and kept using tote bags. This one on the picture I have for almost 4 years now and it's from a small, local brand. I also got a couple of reusable masks as these are a must nowadays and I cannot even imagine how many disposable ones we used over the past year all over the world!
Fashion industry is one of the planets worst enemies and I also pay attention to my shopping habits these past few years. I was lucky enough to adopt some really nice pieces as hand me downs and from my mom's closet. I also found some great pieces at second hand shops last year - they are getting better with selection so I hope I'll find some treasures again! All the clothes on this picture except from one black cardigan wasn't purchased new.
Of course, the best way to reduce waste is to only buy what you really need, pure basics to survive and make everything yourself. Is that realistic for me? No. But that doesn't mean I won't try to make better decisions. I will probably fail so many times but every single time we all do go for that better option, it counts.

Let me know what is that one or many things you do to reduce your waste? Any tips or advice is always welcome! :)


banner.png

Sort:  

Every little helps!

Congratulations @nikolina! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Your post has been really appreciated and was the most upvoted of the day

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Time to go on your Hive Tour

Lovely post!
also big on tote bags for grocery shopping. Found a little shop down the street where we buy things package-free. Mostly cereal, spices, grains and such.
We're doing a little experiment with vermicomposting to cut down on food waste too :)

very nice finding you here.

Those are some great ways to make a positive impact! I really like the idea of buying some things package free and I hope it will become more common everywhere. Composting is also amazing, we have been doing it for a very long time, since we live in the countryside it's a lot easier I guess - here in Serbia I don't think it's possible doing it in the city. We have a long way to go. :)

very nice finding you here.

Same! :)

Thanks for sharing!