Cataloging Editorial Perspectives of Our Times

in #editorialcartoons4 years ago


Influenza-warning-2.jpg

One of the leisurely things I often enjoyed doing was coming home from work, taking care of things then sitting down to enjoy the editorial section of the newspaper. Over the years as that has trended to slowly fading away with the invent of the internet and social media I decided the next best thing to do was to use the internet to keep up with a trait I often enjoyed..the editorial cartoons.

I spent a couple of years posting them on my blog on the Disqus platform. I always thought they'd be there for years to come, a place people could go back to down the road if desired to look at the many different perspectives held during any particular place in time. It didn't quite work out that way as Disqus got rid of it's internal blogging platforms and that ended up deleting my catalog of weekly editorial cartoons.

Despite they say what goes on the block chain forever stays on the block chain that erasure of my collection has held me back somewhat from being consistent on a weekly basis on the block chain plus I wasn't aware you could decline rewards so I didn't want to get flagged thinking I was trying to profit off someone else's work, that's if you could call a buck a year a profit...well, maybe in Nigeria but for me not so much. I did though find a couple of new homes for my collection that I didn't need to worry so much if anyone gave a care in that manner and I've stayed pretty consistent providing some weekly humor in our times and of course political perspectives. I do admit the block chain is more open to allowing one to find a bit of humor in just about anything....some people can get pretty upset if you break your alignment to their political leaning on their blog...but sometimes you know you have to learn to laugh with the best of them and sometimes I have to admit the other side puts out something you just can't help but laugh and if they can make me laugh then they make the top of my list I just have to watch where I post them as some see no humor in it at all.

Anyway, tonight I seen an article on what political cartoons were like back in the influenza outbreak of 1918 and it's given me a bit of enlightenment that maybe someday on the block chain, many decades down the road, someone may actually go back and look over my cataloged collection to find out what the atmosphere of the times were.

1918 Flu Pandemic: How Syracuse editorial cartoons gave readers a unique perspective

DLXK3VUIINBFZPMQRRO3OHTPM4.jpg