You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Price Falls Further... Do We Need A Culture Shift? @Promo-Mentors: Conceptualizing An Education Platform

in #education6 years ago

We would like to know what you think of the current posting culture

Hi @futurethinker: I really have no business piping in here, but on the theory that personal experience gives insight into user satisfaction, I'd like to add a thought:

It's easy to feel adrift on Steemit, to have the sense of being anonymous and inconsequential. I've been here now a little over six months and I'm having a grand time. But it's taken me this long to realize that Steemit isn't really the vast ocean it appears at first to be. It's comprised of communities, groups of people who share interests. In those groups you're more likely to find content you like and to find readers who will enjoy your content. That's obvious, but not to someone who is new.

I don't think tags do it, not for a newbie. I think there must be a way for clever people (like you) to design a system where maybe all "introduce yourself" posts are filtered and some kind of expansive orientation message is delivered. Something that will give new account holders a heads up about informally aligning themselves with compatible communities where they can form connections. And, the importance of reading other posts, and commenting on these--the importance of two-way, meaningful engagement.

Personally, I surf the site for interesting material in different languages. I read and comment widely. But I'm beginning to understand that, though I may continue to surf, the audience for my blogs will likely be in those areas in which I have a particular interest.

As for:

a platform where educators and learners can communicate

I think that's great. As you know, I'm not technically savvy so, though I love to teach I'm not sure I could navigate your site nimbly. However, I do think many bloggers here would benefit from mentoring. As for the financial incentive, that wouldn't move me as much as the desire to help.

Anyway, I'm just a little bit of plankton who will be around as long as Steemit is around. I like to write and I love the variety of information available on Steemit. But a lot of people are less attached to the platform than I am. I'd like them to stay also.

Sort:  

I don't think tags do it, not for a newbie. I think there must be a way for clever people (like you) to design a system where maybe all "introduce yourself" posts are filtered and some kind of expansive orientation message is delivered.

Thank you! I wish I was clever enough to design a system like that haha! Luckily we have great minds from the Steemit inc team who are working on SMTs and Hivemind. If you are interested in how it works out I would suggest you search up those terms! ;)

I think that's great. As you know, I'm not technically savvy so, though I love to teach I'm not sure I could navigate your site nimbly.

We will try to design it as userfriendly as possible! My grandmother always had problems with technology, and I always had to explain it to her. We will try to make it so that non tech savvy grannies and grandpas can go through it, if not, that they only need to ring their grand children once for an explanation so to say ;)

I enjoyed that response, especially the second part :)