You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Price Falls Further... Do We Need A Culture Shift? @Promo-Mentors: Conceptualizing An Education Platform

in #education6 years ago (edited)

Sounds like a good plan @futurethinker, so you are basically trying to create something a bit similar to "wikihow.com" but using the steem-blockchain as a foundation or Smart Media Tokens?

I was thinking along these lines when I first came to steemit, where is the INDEX, and why is some random-travel blogger making hundreds of dollars on a post with some photos in trending etc, etc...

But then I just got used to the chaos and the "flexibility" of the platform and went with the flow, but I try to write for people who don't use steemit now days, because I know it ends up on search-engines and the articles will probably be around forever maybe...

Also I belong to the "consciously avoid certain social media platforms" type, so I am not going to do any "cross-promotion", but I think that people who are comfortable with "old socialmedia" should do so, why not, it will help steemit grow, or at least bring in more new users... And I love the idea of mentorship... It is always needed...

Not too keen on discord, sorry I know everyone here jumps on the discord bandwagon instantly, so I liked this "we will look beyond Discord and create our own platform where educators and learners can communicate." To build an encrypted peer-to-peer based messaging system should be crucial for any online-community (also here on the steemit-platform! With a decent privacy policy?! Maybe it is to much to ask...?) But it would be crucial for any community that wants to gain more traction from users who are feed-up with the "non-privacy" of "old socialmedia" and there are a lot of us...

Cheers and thanks for your post!

/FF

Sort:  

so you are basically trying to create something a bit similar to "wikihow.com" but using the steem-blockchain as a foundation or Smart Media Tokens?

Yes, but with an added feature that people can contact the author and follows lessons.

I was thinking along these lines when I first came to steemit, where is the INDEX

Hivemind should make this INDEX easier. It is indeed a messy bunch. I value indexing and the ease of finding information a lot. So having users easily to navigate to their desired tutorials and courses will be one of our priorities.

(I hate it to spend an half our to look up sources for one subject)

With a decent privacy policy?! Maybe it is to much to ask...?) But it would be crucial for any community that wants to gain more traction from users who are feed-up with the "non-privacy" of "old socialmedia" and there are a lot of us...

A very valid point! There I have seen many projects working on this privacy. We value privacy a lot and it is something we certainly will have to look in to.

Thank you for the great feedback @friendly-fenix!

Thank you for taking charge and doing something!

/FF