Welcome To My Blog

in #engrave4 years ago

I'm not a blogger. I'm testing out Engrave and Dblog, and I have to say, this is quite fantastic. So lets do a little bit about me and start up this blog on Engrave.

I've written multiple introduction post. One for Steem, one for Hive and now this is techinically on Hive, but will be for Engrave/DBlog.

Who am I? I'm a person. I'm a developer wanna be. I've got a few projects that I'm working on and I'll continue to work on them. Do I post? Occosinally yes. But as it goes on into the future, I'll be posting less and less. Why? Because I'm not confident in what I write. I don't believe that its intresting. I don't think most people want to read most of what I write. I think some of it intresting for sure. I think some people will be interested in reading some of what I've written, but not all of it. And for that reason, I tend to not write.

What are some things I've developed? My favorite one is GiftGiver, a project of mine. Currently its a hive faucet, but back in the days, it used to help users who were low on RC on Steem by being able to give them a free delegation. That'll be brought back around soon as well. I've made a few bots for SBI, including their discord lookup one. I've also worked with the PeakD team and gotten SBI lookup integrated right into the PeakD wallet. Votefun is one my projects that I quite enjoied developing. It was a discord upvote bot and I open sourced it and I know its being run on a few discord servers. I've also made a few bots for the Qurator project.

The best part of developing something is seeing it in action. Getting to know that something you did is making an impact is quite amazing. And having your work be part of the 15,105th most visited website in the US(PeakD) is insane. I didn't think that I'd reach this point so quickly. I thought it was going to be so much longer before I made something that was widely visible, but well, thanks to Hive I already do.

I'll continue making things and hope more of them make more of an impact in people's lives.

What are my favoutie things about this new platform that I'm using? Its very user friendly. PeakD is pretty good for users within the hive ecosystem, but for getting new users this seems to be great. So much easier to give a link to your blog there(or hell if you become a top one, they say they'll give you a .com domain for free for a year). Will I be using this? During this quarantine, I'll be posting from it. But after, I'll continue, though nowhere near as much as I was before.


Originally posted on Rishi's Blog. Hive blog powered by ENGRAVE.

Sort:  

So are Engrave and Dblog just more frontends to HIVE?

Yup, but they are more of individual blog like. Click this link to see what others will see: http://rishi.dblog.org/. I'm waiting on DNS so I can point it to my own domain.

I checked it out, looks nice but unable to use login button??

It works for me. Does it not take you to hive connect?

It takes me to hive connect, The app engrave.app is requesting access to view your current account username. I click continue then enter hiveconnect password, then The app engrave.app is requesting access to view your current account username. click login button then back to dblog page without login.

What kind of problem did you have exactly? It should redirect you to Hivesigner and back to a blog from where you've started.

It takes me to hive connect, The app engrave.app is requesting access to view your current account username. I click continue then enter hiveconnect password, then The app engrave.app is requesting access to view your current account username. click login button then back to dblog page without login.

does this on both my ubuntu and windows brave browsers??

Can you try different browser?

Tried google chrome on windows same problem?

Oh man, its come a LONG way since I played with it last.

Was using mobile interface, and it was a mess... looking slick now!
https://sn0n.dblog.org/emgrave-test-post

I checked it out on mobile instantly and it was beautiful.

I am new to this. In fact, going through Dblog and even your blog....

Absolutely shocked. In a good way. :)

As a blogger, I find this clean and exactly how I like it. It is almost like Hive-on-WordPress .

Few questions though:

#1: Can we, for example, have a "custom" sidebar? Right now it is a single-column theme...

#2: What about the font change? The line-width of the fonts should change for better readability.

#3: Is there a backend?