Enola Holmes - Schlock Holmes?

in #entertainment4 years ago (edited)

There have been so many versions of Sherlock Holmes ever since the books were written. I grew up watching the old Basil Rathbone movies and then Jeremy Brett on TV. I think he has been played by more actors than any other character. More recently we have had the modern Benedict Cumberbatch twist and the Robert Downey Jnr movies. Now Netflix brings us his younger sister Enola Holmes. This is a two hour movie starring Millie Bobby Brown (of Stranger Things). I did not realise she is British. She has a production credit on this, but then her parents are in the business. Sherlock himself is played by Henry Cavill (Superman, The Witcher) who is also also British. Apparently it is based on a 'young adult' novel and the young people are the stars.

I saw a description of some Holmes variations as 'schlock'.

Enola is raised by her mother (Helena Bonham Carter) without her deceased father and absent brothers where she is trained in various useful skills. Enola talks to the audience a lot, which is a nice effect to let us feel we know her better. Mother goes missing and Enola gets involved with a missing young viscount.

The production is very good with lots of period detail in various locations, including London. I do not know how much was real locations, but there is obviously a lot of CGI in use. Enola proved to have some of Sherlock's detective skills as well as good fighting ability. There is plenty of action with strong female characters looking out for themselves.

The story involves issues of the day around the right to vote which the other brother Mycroft is not impressed by. Some people may think that black actors are too prominent, but there have been black people in the UK for centuries and I do not think this is anachronistic.

Brown does a good job for such a young actor, but then she has plenty of experience already. I have not read the books, but there is potential for sequels and this video speculates on those.

Overall I would say this is closer to the Robert Downey Jnr movies than something like the Jeremy Brett Holmes with plenty of humour. I fun action romp for kids and adults.

The other thing I just finished watching is Nightflyers, which is a very dark space horror about first contact involving psychic abilities and a space ship that is not all it seems. I found it hard going at times, but wanted to see how it turned out. One late scene is previewed right at the start, so you know it will not go well. I found the ending a little disappointing as things were not explained as much as I had hoped. I have a few more things to watch on my list. There is new Star Trek: Discovery soon.

Hive five!

Sort:  

I am really excited about the new season of Discovery. I am also excited about the series they are going to be doing about Captain Pike. I was a little disappointed with Picard. I am going to have to check out this movie. I didn't realize Sherlock had a sister. I thought it was just him and Mycroft. My wife and I watched the modern show Elementary when it was on and we enjoyed that.

I have not seen Picard, but have enjoyed Discovery. Will be interesting to see where they take it next.

I am not sure Sherlock had a sister in the original books. They introduced on in the Cumberbatch show, but she was evil. I have seen a little of Elementary. Ought to check out more. There is never enough time.

Yeah, I hear you there!

I watched it this week. I enjoy kids movies for the simplicity and laughs. It was good and kept my attention without being great.
With very little new options coming out anything will do at this stage.

There will be a lack of new movies for a while. We get a fair bit from Netflix and still have plenty to watch there. I need to review if we keep the Disney+ subscription though.

Great review! I settled in for a lazy Saturday night TV session watching Enola Holmes last night. It was a fun movie. You're right about the period detail, so many rich detailed scenes and lots of CGI.

Posted using Dapplr

My daughter turned this on the other day, I started watching then I got busy. Great review and from what I watched, I need to finish.

It was a fun watch. Wife and I enjoyed it.

I watched this last night and thought it was a very enjoyable Movie

I caught it on Netflix a couple of days ago, it was fun, great positive representation of women in there too, you really don't see much of that!

I agree on that. Well acted too. Sometimes you just want some fun viewing and this did the job.