NOW A BEAST IN ME IS BORN

in #esteemapp5 years ago (edited)

0mlf4xdos1.jpg

It's been long I have posted here, and I am seeing cobwebs everywhere. I missed being here, hopeful to stay for long. While I was away, I was developing my art as well, and there have been alot of improvement. Hope you will like this piece, It what myself and my friend came up with; SHE WROTE THE POEM AND I DID THE ARTWORK.

The post is about domestic violence and its dangers.

ENJOY!!!


NOW A BEAST IN ME IS BORN

It was all so rosy;
As elegant as the sun's radiance,
One could easily see love written in our eyes;
And so we tied the knot;
"From this day, I am yours and you are mine"-
My favorite part.
Oh! How honey sweet this seemed;
One could almost always catch me smiling at myself-
A few thought of me- insane,
But no, I was inlove;
Deeply;
With the father of my two;
Who's of course my significant other.

And how vinegar sour it's turned;
We began to have downs-
What? Ups?
No, "Ups" were far from us;
When he needed someone to feast his frustrations on, I was that "someone",
Slaps? Kicks? Blows? Those were given to me on a daily;
And oh, before I forget,
I've had quite a number of miscarriages-
Of course, questions were raised but I had to cover my "darling" husband;
Out of all these he was just the perfect man-
Begging me please,
Ready to tease,
Feeling at ease;
Singing promises to my ears that never got fulfilled like-
It would not happen again;
How foolish I was to believe these words over and over again-
When it's said "if he does it once, he'd do it again",
But still I chose to stick around-
I was blind, blinded by love.

"It would not happen again"
His favorite line;
The greatest lie-
I became a pawn in his game,
I could feel death on my heels,
A grim depressing reality staring at me in the face-
I hid my woes with a smile;
Anyone with two good eyes could see that.
I still hope for a change;
But no, it grew worse-
He was the predator and I, his prey.

I was tired of being a child;
Self esteem lowered;
Fear grasped my entire being;
I was in deep thoughts-
Would he ever change?
Would I survive this?
Still it remained my secret-
After all marriage problems should be solved in the marriage without a third party, so I was told by some successful married people when ever they're asked the secret of a long-lasting marriage;
Just then had I felt a thunderous slap at my back asking for dinner was already on the diner;
I reached out my hand to grip the closest of weapons-
A knife,
And I stabbed him with total furiousness.

I'm free but not totally free;
For I write this poetry in jail because I killed a beast and now a beast in me is born.

© Written by my friend Valerie-Pearl Oyo.


  • Tools used: Photoshop, Hp Laptop, and a Mouse

PROCESS

29k86xz6ck.jpg

q7va6uu7da.jpg

xy8bngybj9.jpg

vqh89szigx.jpg

8ty52jj2zj.jpg

jys3sjqeyt.jpg

t64w4xcbem.jpg

d3wkecx4yg.jpg

q3oxj8z1t7.jpg

2mc71fwqho.jpg

pyk7g2yaba.jpg

STOP DOMESTIC VIOLENCE!!!

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Your post has been featured on @artzone

Courtesy of @nmalove