No Metronome Today

in #exhaust4 years ago

I just finished a 6.44km run that lasted about 43mm:19ss !

image

For the past few weeks I've been using a running app called runzi that measures all the things Strava does, but also has a metronome and calculates cadence (how frequently my feet hit the floor). I've been trying to up the cadence and setting the metronome at 170 bpm. When I manage to keep up with it (usually just the first kilometer) I feel like I'm really running! I think it's helped me to up my pace a bit and it is also more comfortable running this way (I don't land quite as heavily) so I'm not getting nearly as much pain in my ankles and tendons.

Today I thought I'd let go of the regime and see what differences have stuck through this kind of training. I did manage a faster first km than I used to before I started using runzi. Without the metronome constantly reminding me though, my pace fell off steadily through the rest of the run. I'm pleased though that even though I'm not breaking any records, I'm able to run faster for longer than before without as much pain.

Long term Lloyd-watchers might notice that I'm running along the roads more at the moment, that's because when the riverbank isn't completely flooded, it's still really squishy. I'm looking forward to it drying out a little as we move into spring.

I'll turn the metronome back on next time and see if I can continue to improve. The other thing I missed is that you can set it to call out stats at distance or time intervals. I think it also keeps me going to have a voice telling me what my pace was for the last km.

Check out some detailed info at my EXHAUST page
Join me in testing out EXHAUST!

Sort:  

I've not tried running to a metronome. I've read that more short paces can be more efficient than taking longer strides and I have tried this at times. There is general agreement that mixing up the pace with intervals helps a lot. I'll check out that app.

I don't think I could run with a metronome--it would feel too much like work (or piano practice).

I do find my stride tends to synchronize with uptempo music. How about setting up a playlist with some faster and slower beats as a sort of interval training?

Thanks. I don't like to have earbuds in when I'm running so I don't really use music. The metronome sounds from my phone which I strap to my arm so I'm not hearing it all the time - particularly when I'm nearer traffic. It's a bit irritating at first but once I get into the pace it's OK.

You have uploaded 43 running activities, and 19 of them have been of similar distances (within 10 percent)!
Here are your 5-fastest running activities of a similar distance:

Over these 19 similar activities, you have travelled approximately 116.25 kms at an average pace of roughly 6:50 min/km!
Your latest run was at a pace of approximately 6.729min/km!
Looks like you went a bit faster than usual this time! Nice work!
Have a !BEER for your troubles!


Hey @lloyddavis, here is a little bit of BEER from @exhaust for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.