Reflection On My 2020

in #exhaust3 years ago (edited)

Looking Forward To 2021

IMG20201206121202.jpg

Another years passed and its time again to reflect on what's been a crazy time in our world. I need to start with the fact that we have been pretty lucky in New Zealand and my thoughts are with family and friends living overseas, especially in Europe and US. I'm really hoping we will start to see the end of COVID-19 and the anxiety and stress that has come with 2020 will also start to ease up.

I'm always an optimistic and I think the thing I've loved the most this year is just seeing people getting on with it. Getting stronger, posting PBs even without races, making positive changes even when there has been little to be positive about. We've actually seen the world come together and create a vaccine quicker than what we've ever seen something like this happen before. It give me a little hope that anything else the world is faced with in the future, with some calm thought, and cooperation, we can take on anything.

A special mention to all the projects I do my best to support and follow, especially running on Hive...wait, were we still using Steam at the start of 2020? A special mention to:

  • All my good friends posting on the runningproject.
  • xhaust.me is back after a short break and great to see people using the platform again.
  • Gfam.live which is just kicking off an hopefully we'll see more of it to come in 2021.

My Highlights for 2020


It's actually been a busy year for me, even in lockdown. I have recently moved jobs, but both jobs I have worked on this year have been for essential services, so I've been under a lot of pressure to get results for both roles. I can't see things easing up with both jobs, but it's the things I do outside of my day job that I am always more proud of.

Books


Originally titled Ansible Answers, it was picked up by a publisher midway through the year and managed to publish this book in about a 2 month turn around. It's nice to get this book updated and get the quality of the code a little better. The price point is currently a little high for my liking but I am hoping this is because it has only been out for a month or so.

received_741109193475999.webp
https://www.amazon.com/Practical-Ansible-Configuration-Management-Finish/dp/1484264843

On another note, it's taken me almost 18 months but a massive piece of work has been completed in the form of The Docker Workshop. I'm a bit conflicted in mentioning this. It was very hard work. The editors and publishers were hard work and as a result we lost 5 authors during the process. We did produce one of the biggest encyclopedia/workshop/books on Docker with over 800 pages, and it seems to be selling well for the first month since it was published.

received_715593299352030.webp
https://www.amazon.com/Docker-Workshop-containers-effectively-development-ebook/dp/B08MBQ5M8H

Ironman U Coaching Certification


I took on some more triathlon coaching training this year to develop my own knowledge and help the few people that I coach. It was a fun process and was pretty glad I was able to get a good result. I posted recently about the training and certification and details can be found here

Racing


Racing was a little sparse this year but I really can't complain. I took my chances when I could and even though I didn't get any PB's, I did get some good results and make some good improvements. I feel like I am stronger and faster than what I have been in a while.

IMG_20201130_130506_432.jpg

Plans for 2021


I think one the first things I would love for 2021 would be to try and get back to Australia to see family and friends. Things are tracking pretty well over in Oz, but it's been a little hard being away from family for so long during these times. We haven't really been able to travel so hopefully this might change soon.

Run Coach Certification


To add to my triathlon coaching certification, I am currently working through a Run Coach Certification. Once again, I am really enjoying it and hopefully will be finished in the next month, so will have a full breakdown of the details shortly. My goal is to write a book on run training for beginners and possibly start training beginners to get started running. I am hoping to get started on both Fiverr and possibly through Hive, but will see what the new year brings, but I am not in a hurry and want to do this properly.

Running Book


This is something I've wanted to do for a very long time, and its time that I bight the bullet and do it. I am putting together a book of getting started running for beginners trying to answer all the questions new runners have. It's a little weird as it is a break away from the usual books I write so I am a little apprehensive about putting it into the wild. There is still a long way to go on this one though.

Racing


Well, I am really hoping we get to race Ironman in March, but it's anyone's guess as to if this will happen or not. I am trying my best to get faster and stronger and if I find the magic training session that gives me massive improvements, I promise Hive will be the first to now. For now, I'll be doing my best to try and enter any race I can but there may be a few more virtual runs this year.

Thanks to everyone that has taken the time to read my work, post or comment over the past 12 months. I'm always open to helping out with other project so don't hesitate to drop me a line on [email protected] or via LinkedIn or discord.

Stay Strong Everyone!

Sort:  

Excellent! The things we do outside the workplace are also important. You said right and we have to take care of them more and more. The situation regarding Covid 19 seems to be likely to improve in 2021. Greetings from Italy.

Caio @stefano.massari thank you for your kind words and I really hope things improve in 2021.

Looks like you had a busy year. It's good to have some achievements to show for it. I hope 2021 can be better with more running events. I've missed parkrun, but have tried to keep my enthusiasm up. I'll be interested to have a look at your running book(s).

Run free!

Thanks so much @steevc yeah it will be great to see some more racing. Will keep you posted on the books progress.