Sunday Faster Running

in #exhaust3 years ago

c568d873d43b059aee4b159fbf6adc81.png

I've been doing a four week challenge through @polarglobal setting myself the challenge to try and improve my 3km time from 11 minutes and 27 seconds. Today was the day were I tested myself again. Even though it was on the same course, it was a beautiful morning for a run and taking on a 5.6km race seemed like the perfect opportunity to have a good crack at improving my time.

For the past 12 months or even more, I have been doing my best to improve my shorter distance times, and feel like even though my training has been going well but the results simply aren't happening. I have been deliberately been trying to put myself in difficult situations during my training but it seems like there is something I am clearly missing.

The trace out in Auckland today was nice and small with only a few competitors. It was nice to have a win after a winter of lock downs. After the first kilometer one of the 10km runners came past me, which I was cool with but it seemed like he was running easy when I felt like I was sprinting.

Screen Shot 2020-10-18 at 8.11.15 PM.png

The above image is from today's run posted on Strava: https://www.strava.com/activities/4208644469

I was working last night so only got about 4 hours sleep, so am hoping this was the reason why I did not get the times I was hoping...Let me just say one thing though, I am really happy with the time and the consistency of my kilometer splits.

On a side note


With my Ironman fast approaching, I did try a training session I will be hoping to do a lot more of in the coming weeks. I did the 5.6km run at high intensity, then did a easy 5km run afterwards, giving me a total of 10km for the morning. The goal is to fatigue my legs before running easy for 5 to 15 kilometers afterwards. It was an easy start today, but hoping to pick up the pace and distance even more in the coming weeks where I will be able to give everyone more of a breakdown of how the training session works and if it has an impact in my speed.

kirstandkim.jpg

And another side note


The image above is from @run.kirsty.run receiving her award for the half marathon where she took out the top overall female for the day. She is pacing the Auckland Half Marathon in two weeks and was supposed to be practicing her 2 hour pace for the half, but I think the competition was too much and she must have seen an opportunity to win, so went for it. It was great to see and am really proud of her.

In two weeks I am racing the 5km race at the Auckland Marathon Running Festival. I raced an even 19 minutes last year so hope I can make some improvements on that time this year. I'll definitely be getting a lot more than 4 hours sleep for that race(hopefully).

Stay Strong Everyone!

Sort:  

Well done. I don't think there are many races going on in the UK for now, but then NZ has done so much better in keeping COVID cases down with remarkably few deaths.

I need to find some way to improve my pace for when things like parkrun start up again. I'll keep up the interval training.

!BEER

Yeah @steevc NZ has been very lucky. I think as well, every time we get out of lock down I try to to as many races as possible. But hoping that will last for a few more months.


Hey @run.vince.run, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Every day is a good day when you run.
Kevin Nelson

Reblogged by @runningproject

...and enjoy a good recovery !BEER .

You need to stake more BEER (24 staked BEER allows you to call BEER one time per day)

Congratulations @run.vince.run! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 31000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 32000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

October 2020 is the World Mental Heath Month