I Bought an NFT With my HIVE Earnings!

in #exode3 years ago (edited)

The Kumicho.png

Greetings! OK, so there is actually a disclaimer. About 75% of the funds used were from my post payouts with the remainder being from selling some CBM from #cryptobrewmaster. I have been saving up my HBD, which I had to sell for HIVE in the market, and also waiting for the price of CBM to go back up to supplement my funds. The NFT in question, is a card from the Hive blockchain game eXode, artwork by @shinoxl. He actually won an award for this artwork, too.

What is eXode?

For those who do not know, eXode is a space evacuation/colonization game. The game is currently in development but the first mode, evacuation, is already live! There is also an ongoing, semi-cooperative contest to evacuate from Station Ivski!

Screenshot 114.png

For a little more information on the contest, see my previous post.

Back to The Kumicho

Why is this NFT so important to me? Well it was the first legendary card revealed and has been on my wishlist since before the game was playable. 'What does it do?' you might ask, well, since she's a passenger, she can't be used directly in evacuation. However, she provides synergies for "Syndicate" and "Narcophile". That means that any other card with those traits on them will receive a boost in their quality (QL), the number on the top left of the card. There are many other Syndicate cards (and several Narcophiles) out there that can benefit from this synergy! Here is an example of that synergy in action.

Screenshot 116.png

The stats on this Syndicate Squad Leader go well over 100, thanks to her quality doubling. In this case, the card is receiving: +1 Syndicate from our Kumicho, but also +1 Criminal and +1 Violence from my new favorite origin, the Repentant Pirate.

Repentant Pirate.png

Think of Origins as equivalent to the Summoners from Splinterlands. They dictate which faction you can use.
The Kumicho, while not an origin, is the leader of the Syndicate faction. In colonization, she will give out Syndicate missions (if she likes you, that is).

Why The Kumicho is so Valuable

She was originally listed on the Starbase Market for $9.90 USD but I recruited her for a good deal at $8.50 (in HIVE of course). Why is she worth so much? Well first of all, being legendary, she is a very rare drop from the Syndicate contract, which drops 3 cards to your collection every Sunday. The real value she has, I think, is that her synergy can give a bonus to virtually any card*!

*Provided you have one of these:

Screenshot 117.png

This card makes any card a member of the syndicate simply by equipping it to the desired card. You can plug it into a crew member so that they may get the Kumicho's synergy bonus and/or you can equip it to an origin which would allow you to have a diverse crew allowing syndicate cards. I just have to stock up on more chips to maximize the bonuses!

Maybe I've overwhelmed you with all these game mechanics.

Screenshot 72.png
You: ???

If you haven't gotten your starter pack yet and plan on doing so, make sure you use this link so that you can receive 2 free booster packs, a $6 value! That's 10 free cards! Start saving up your HIVE and let me know if you use my link. When colonization goes live, we will be on planets not too far from each other and may be able to help each other!

Well, that's all I have to say for now.
Fix that hyperdrive and watch for hostiles!
Until next time!

Sort:  

Your current Rank (43) in the battle Arena of Holybread has granted you an Upvote of 11%

I feel like that has been a great investment Captain, congratulations!

Thank you, captain!

For 8$ it's a very good deal, congrats!.

Thanks, captain! I'm very proud of my new acquisition.

If I would have waited I could've gotten it for $7 as it is now

It's difficult to predict the bottom value of an asset but anyways think that with the XP from the Challenge you can level up her 😉. (I would reserve it for the Pirate Repenant though).

Congratulations @proto26! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 18000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 19000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Saint-Nicolas challenge for well-behaved girls and boys
HiveFest⁵ badges available in the HiveBuzz shop
The new HiveFest⁵ Attendee badge is waiting for you