Sometimes the little things can be fun, too!

in #experiment4 years ago

For some reason, my inner kid always takes a stroll through the toy section just to see all the cool stuff they come up with nowadays. It really does amaze me the advanced toys have in this day and age and yet a lot of them are still glued to their smartphone. Anyway, I was walking through the toys a few days ago and found a little experiment box that I never saw before. I only remember seeing this in an episode of South Park and might be more popular in other parts of the world. Nevertheless, I decided to buy a set since it was only about $3 and might as well give it a go before I have kids of my own to see how fun/interesting it might actually be. The box calls it Aqua Shrimp, I think they are called Sea Monkeys or perhaps Brine Shrimp might be more correct. Let's have a look!

20200713_163452.jpg


20200713_163447.jpg

In the box we have a little container with a magnifying seethrough lid. A little sachet with the eggs and another with the food for when they hatch. Along with a little water stir tool and a spoon. For feeding, yes I need a spoon... I guess.

20200713_163504.jpg


Instructions are pretty straight forward.

Water in, eggs in, wait 3 days, feed, watch them grow, cook up with pasta, and enjoy. Simple!

20200713_163617.jpg

So this is what it looks like after I added the eggs. Now we wait...

20200713_163641.jpg

Tried to capture a picture though the little magnifying circle but no luck, blurry as heck!


Will update when they hatch!



Sort:  

Cook 'em with pasta?
Just wait.. they will start growing you will give them names, buy bigger tank with plants and wont let your cats even look at them :D :D

Weird kids toy :p

Hahaha, wondered if someone will catch that. =P

Nope, I think they will be super small. No idea. Will have to wait and see now, so far cats or not aware of them...yet! =P

Thank you for your support. We will be working for a new payout scheme for you soon. Keep your chins up and stay tune!

I remember having sea monkeys when I was a kid and again when my sons were little too.

Ah, I knew someone will know what I am talking about! =P

What did the kids think?

They enjoyed them, until the container got knocked over and the monkeys all went down the drain. My wife said it was an accident, but we always suspected she was just tired of the container being in the way.

Hmmm... Conspiracy of the century, the Sea Monkey dilemma. =P

Mine did ok, they hatched and there were at least a hundred of them.

Game them their food, a spoon of the provided powder... They all died.

Or in a food coma, I am not sure.

Today I see a few more floating about, guessing they hatched late. Not sure what went wrong. =P

Congratulations @scrooger! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 95000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 96000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Whale - Make it spray and get your badge!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Sea monkeys... I remember those - they would advertise them in the comic books, Beano, etc I always wondered if they were scams... 😁 but couldnt help wishing i could get them too! I was just a kid!

"...cook up with pasta..." ??? 😨 you sure they're edible? And won't change you into some, some.... mutant...errrr.... sea monkey??? Lol... Have fun!