The Best Snack I Had In Pondicherry!

in #exxp3 years ago

Pondicherry is known for its old French colonies. And it is quiet natural to find many restaurants and bakeries that offer the taste of France. One of the bakeries had these colourful macaroons, flans and almost all the bakery items I have seen in different Paris vlogs.

However, the authenticity police inside me told to wait to have them till I visit that country to have a better first impression. I think food is something that is special about the place we are visiting.

Anyway, this is not about the croissants or macaroons I saw that day but a local street shop that sold the best snacks I had in Pondi. (I said best, not healthy! But your stomach will be just fine, soo…)

You know when you are really hungry and lazy at the same time, you find the quickest option possible and sometimes luck favours those who seek nearest options. Or, local options where there are people stay in queue to get food (always a tip to find decent food options).

It was one such day in Pondi when I overslept and had to find something to eat in the evening. This was also the time where I was staying in a place where the location was not what I expected, let’s blame the only-good picture reviews online.

I found this lady with her temporary stall in the side of the road and few people waiting for the snacks to get packed. She was preparing them right there, basically deep frying them. The batter was also made as the stock finishes, all homemade stuff.

Since it was the closest, I thought of having the “dal vada”, which is the crispy one and one of my favourites, and also added two “medu vada”, the soft ones. And the best part is she wrapped it in a leaf and gave it. The true eco-friendly way!

I’m not sure if you can make out from the pictures, but they are way too small. Like one of them will fit inside my palm. And I was thinking I will hate the oil too. Surprisingly, they were too good. Tiny crispy bites.

Soon enough, I went back again and bought one from everything that was available there. But the dal vada is for sure my favourite. I don’t know if she will still be there after the whole COVID situation. But, if she is, I think this will be the approximate location to find her: