July 2021 Short Story Writing Prompt from Write Club

in #exxp3 years ago (edited)

Bikes and picnic basket


Image source: NEConnect on Pixabay

Hello and welcome to Write Club! In this post you can learn a little about who we are, and our monthly short story prompts. You are welcome to use our writing prompts to inspire your own creativity. If you're a writer who is committed to the craft of short fiction and are looking for an ongoing fiction writing workshop, you are welcome to check us out.

Write Club is a small group of fiction writers who love the craft of short story writing. Each month we write a short story from a writing prompt, and then review each other's stories and improve our work based on feedback from the other members. Our goal is to submit our polished stories for evaluation by professional mainstream publications.

Invitation to Short Story Writers


If you are a writer of short fiction, we welcome you to follow us and watch for our monthly writing prompts.

To connect with us and check out our workshop, just pop in as a visitor to our Discord channel and tell us about your interests. We will ask you a few questions and see if it seems like we're a good fit for your writing journey!

This month's writing prompt


That brings us to the prompt! For the month of July 2021, Write Club members must write a story based on this prompt: picnic.

Now, picnics of our imaginations may be perfect experiences, on lazy summer afternoons where the temperature is perfect, there are no insects, a sumptuous meal is set out on a red checkered table cloth, and those partaking of the meal are in perfect harmony. But in fact, the reality never matches that idyllic vision.

Tell us a story. Bring us picnic conflicts. Develop characters and a setting, and a resolution to your story's central conflict so that we leave the reading of your tale feeling as though we have dined on a satisfying meal.

Where will your imagination take you?

Get your engines running


Start thinking about who will populate your story, and how they might seek to overcome what they are facing. The more your conscious and sub-conscious brain are working on developing your MC (main character), and defining the scenario that has brought us to the time and place of this story, the sooner your story will take shape.

You could write out some loglines - one-sentence story plots - and then choose the one that resonates the most with you. Or join our discussion on Discord and get input on which idea seems like the most promising one to move forward.

Looking for Writing Resources?


I love to share tips and ideas about creative writing! Here are two treasure troves for you:

  • You can find many of my tips and resources on my website, in the On Writing section.
  • I also share writing tips in The Ink Well community on Hive. See the complete catalog for the full list of writing tips.
Have fun and keep writing.
Sort:  

Hey there, Old Friend!

I've been contemplating today just how much I've appreciated your prompts, challenges, and other assorted encouragements to write in the past. I'm dropping you this note to say "Hello," after a far-too-long hiatus from writing, partly to greet and thank you for past encouragement, and partly to (hopefully) drive myself to respond to your prompt...

The last couple of years have been so distracting and depressing that I've neglected the positive far more than I should, and I am beyond ready to get back to some creative efforts.

And so, Thank You again for all the fun in years gone by, and please don't let me get away without at least attempting to write a "Picnic" story... :D

Blessings, my friend!

- @creatr

😄😇😉

@creatr

@creatr! Hello hello. Absolutely, please write a picnic story. Also, we do have a very active creative writing community here on Hive, with weekly short story prompts. Come see as in The Ink Well community.

I hope things are on the upswing for you, and for all of us now at the (hopefully) tail end of this pandemic.

I've been thinking about picnic. Writing the story may not be the problem. Navigating the different discord channels is challenging for me.

I'll figure it out.

Discord is actually fun and easy once you get used to it :) My only real complaint is the 100 server limit. I had to make a second account to join more channels.

Thank you for the encouragement ;)

No problems :) If you have any questions about it, I'll be happy to help

I understand, @agmoore. In a lot of Duscord servers there are a lot of channels. In Write Club, however, we mainly just use three of them. 😁

Bless you, thank you, @agmoore. I'm not the only one challenged by the Discord channels! In fact when I replaced my previous laptop with the latest one, I couldn't get Discord working again (Raj tried to help with that, and getting into PeakD, which I never did). I have fallen off the face of the earth, in large part because of my frustration with Discord. Jayna, thank you for all your time and talent at Inkwell! I need to return to the Land of the Living.

Hello @carolkean,
I break into a cold sweat when someone mentions 'keys' or 'nodes' 😂. My son opens the doors for me when I get lost. The latest escapade was accidentally putting a dreadful picture as my screen saver on my desktop. Until he gave me instructions I was stuck looking at something horrible.

Come back to the land of the living. It's always a pleasure to have nice, literate people around :))

Nodes? Nodes??? Not even gonna ask.... KEYS are traumatizing enough for me. (PeakD.)
THANK YOU for this sweet invite - you make me want to hurry back to the land of the living!

This sounds like fun :) What community do we post them in? Is there a hashtag?

Thanks again for the suggestions in my post, Jayna :)

Hi @wrestlingdesires. You can post anywhere. Write Club is very loosely associated with Hive and we don't have a Hive community. We are submitting stories to mainstream publishers. Those who write for the prompt but are not joining Write Club can therefore post anywhere they wish. For example, you can post in The Ink Well, if you want. There are no specific tags to use. Have fun!

Thanks so much :) I will definitely try to work the prompt into something interesting!

I've decided to use "picnic" as the weekly prompt for The Ink Well this coming week. So there you go! :-)

I love it :) !!! I am definitely going to be writing for this every week, so now I have caught both of those birds!