SLAVE LABOUR OR A LABOUR OF LOVE?

in #family4 years ago

IMG_4062 (Custom).JPG

If it is called a labour of love does it still qualify as slave labour? I guess it depends who you are asking!

IMG_3838 (Custom).JPG

My Dad @quailbreeder, just returned home after a 6 week vacation with us. He became an honourary Buckaroo for that time. While I fattened him up with all sorts of organic homegrown food, he helped us with his amazing carpentry skills.

IMG_3792 (Custom).JPG

Of course I regularly teased him about being my slave labour. But I guess the feeling was mutual. Being alone in his little home he is chief cook and bottle wash, plus jack of all trades. While he did wash most of the dirty dishes, I know he appreciated not doing all the laundry and cooking himself.

IMG_4105 (Custom).JPG

And naturally, with Gamps on an extended stay (which to a two year old is almost a lifetime) my son was able to "help". They spent time in the garden together, gobbling the latest seasonal veggies. My son was proud about being such a big helper. He also had another cuddly bear to rough house with.

IMG_3607 (Custom).JPG

Although he has so many wonderful talents Farmer Buckaroo has two left hands when it comes to carpentry. He is severely challenged by any handyman skills in fact. So my dad coming and building a cupboard in the children's bedroom, as well as their jungle gym.

IMG_3759 (Custom).JPG

My dad is the original Dr Doolittle. Even our most nervous animals are like putty in his hands. My goats were as appreciative of his visit as his grandchildren were!

IMG_4144 (Custom).JPG

And now that my slave labour has escaped to less industrious territory we all miss him. Guess I'll need to come up with some alluring new projects to entice him back again.....or get my two year old to phone and ask "Where you Gamps? I miss you. Come and plaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!!!"

IMG_4038 (Custom).JPG

Sort:  

My Dad and nephew are so pretty love you all broken xxxx mwah

Oh this makes my heart so happy! Nothing like having "Gamps" around to learn from and love on. My maternal grandfather owned a construction company and he was extremely handy. He passed when I was only 7, but I would have loved to had more time to do things like this with him! Such lovely moments to cherish. Thank you for sharing a peek with us. 💚

Very nice portrayal of your Dad visiting and pitching in @buckaroo. A labor of love, of that we can be certain.

Hopefully, you will live to experience your son letting you know, as a young man, what it means to him to look back on his fond memories of times like these spent with his Gramps (always interesting the affectionate names used by grandchildren).

Thanks for sharing this with us!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Week 19 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory
!DERANGED
8

Hahaha.. it will be hard to refuse when the little farmer calls his gamp😆 aahh I miss my Dad too.. I used to ask him to fix anything in my house when he's still so mobile.

Miss you too @buckaroo😉


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here