Grandma needs a hug...

in #family4 years ago (edited)

With the lockdown in Illinois over coronavirus the nursing homes are still on complete lockdown. Nobody allowed into them except staff.

This was one thing when my Grandparents were sitting there together day in and day out since March 21st. But this all changed with my Grandfather getting hurt and then needing surgery, then put into a isolation room at the nursing home which led to getting pneumonia due to inactivity, so then back to the hospital, and now to a rehab facility since the nursing home proved incompetent in rehabing my grandfathers hip replacement...or even moving him around enough to keep him from getting bed sores.

20180105_174346.jpg

They are talking about 5 more weeks for the rehab and this is on top of the last 3-4 weeks that everything has been going on. My Grandmother has dementia and it's really hard on her not knowing where my Grandfather is. She can be told and 5 minutes later she forgets. They have been together for 70+ years and this is devastating to her over and over, repeatedly feeling the same abandonment thinking he left her or has died and we are telling her.

I feel helpless in trying to help. I can't go and sit with her for an or two a day taking her mind off things. Can't just sit and drink coffee with her listening to stories that I've heard a thousand times like before this virus. Can't take her out shopping or for lunch.

This all sucks, but maybe worst of all is.

She needs a hug...but I can't go give it to her.