I tried to do a good deed on FB, immediately get attacked

in #fb3 years ago

This is why I hate Facebook and wish it wasn't such an omnipresent aspect of our lives. I was merely trying to do a good deed and do what I would want someone to do for me if it was my animal in question but it doesn't really seem to matter what you post over on that site...someone is going to be an ass towards you for it.


12.png

The very first response that I got took about 3 minutes to come in and it was a woman who said something along the lines of "it is awful that you would post a picture of a dead dog here, you should have just made an explanation... shame on you!"

I don't know if she or the admin decided that she was out of order but the comment was later deleted. Most of the responses were helpful and genuinely trying to help locate the owners. I strongly believe that 85% of the world's population are good people and true to my assumption, a vast majority of the responses were good, it's the 15% that scream the loudest though and I wonder how miserable the lives of these people are.

Ok, if the dog was horribly mangled or riddled with maggots (which is something that is going to happen very soon) I definitely would NOT have posted a picture of that. But this animal had so recently passed on that I thought it might just be sleeping. I know that it is better to "let sleeping dogs lie" so I poked it with a stick. It was clearly dead.

Other commenters were not as abrasive, but equally stupid in their responses.

Untitled.png

Honestly, would anyone out there that doesn't work for animal services or some sort of municipal waste disposal unit just start picking up dead animals that they find? Thankfully, this person got sorted out by the other commenters and it all ended well.

Unfortunately, no one has come forward as the owner and today, when I walked past that spot again the dead dog was still lying there. I do not know how these situations are handled in this country nor do I have any idea what happened to the dog.

It's tragic that the animal died and based on how well groomed he was, I would say that this is definitely not a homeless street dog. I know that if I was the owner, especially in a country that has a reputation for dogs being kidnapped for the dog meat trade, I would prefer to know what happened to my dog, even if it was dead, than to always wonder where he was. That sort of sadness is something I don't wish on anyone.

The moral of the story is: Facebook sucks and it is a toxic environment. The only reason why I used it at all is because every expat area in the world has a massive FB network where locals help one another out. Ok, i'll rephrase that: Every expat area in the world has a FB network where strangers senselessly argue with one another.

Sort:  

I use FB because of work and also to keep in touch with family and friends. I am on the stealth mode most of the time. There's nothing wrong with your post (or the words), you are asking in a polite way. So I have no idea why the lady would write those words.

Some people just want to make a problem online no matter what you do or how you go about doing it I guess.