New Eagle Photos

in #featheredfriends3 years ago (edited)

EDIT: I had intended to post this in the Feathered Friends community but it looks like I did something wrong. If anyone knows of a way to fix this, please let me know in the comment... thank you!

I'm fortunate to live in an area with a lot of bald eagles and I see them several times per week. Usually, they are flying too high for me to get a clear photo but now and then one will put on a little airshow for me while I have the camera ready...

DSCF6645.jpg

The first two photos show a juvenile bald eagle. The bald eagle's feathers will slowly transform into the classic white head and tail pattern over the first few years of its life, reaching the full adult pattern by the fourth or fifth year.

DSCF6643.jpg

This bird is probably one or two years of age. I managed to capture nine shots but they are all from directly below so they are almost identical. I took these photos on Jan. 9th, 2021.


Next, I want to show you a sequence of shots from last December. A bunch of seagulls were feasting on a large fish on the beach when a bald eagle came by to investigate. The seagulls were not interested in sharing and they managed to chase the larger bird away.

DSCF6451.jpg

I'm always amazed at how brave the smaller birds are when chasing away hawks and eagles!

DSCF6452.jpg

I've seen crows and seagulls team up to drive off an eagle. In this case, a single gull was able to get the job done.

DSCF6453.jpg

After this, the bald eagle flew away and I got a few more shots as flew by.

DSCF6454.jpg

DSCF6455.jpg

DSCF6456 2.jpg

All photos were taken by me, @keithboone with a Fuji X-T4 camera and 55-200mm zoom lens. (1/2000, f/4.8, 200mm and cropped) I hope you enjoyed these photos, thanks very much for taking a look!


The Feathered Friends community was created by @melinda010100 and the banner below is the artwork of @barbara-orenya.

Y2iXpRRkNSnseh3NuL6KUBitJTXrc5Jz3moTQfEFut2A2.png

Sort:  

Wow nice photos !
@tipu curate 2

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 53 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
7


Hey @keithboone, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Oops... this was supposed to go into the #FeatheredFriends community but it looks like I did something wrong. I'm not sure if there is a way to fix this.

New homes everywhere 😃 #featheredfriends @hive-106444 I am sure @melinda010100 will find you Keith.

Thank you very much, Joan!

Always a pleasure, trust you are all well.

BTW last photograph makes one feel you could gently touch the bird flying by.

Yes, we're doing well here, hope you are too. That last photo was the closest point as the bird passed... the distance was perhaps 40 or 50 yards and I cropped the photo a bit. :-)

We are all fine, thanks for asking. Cropping is more often than not ideal, bringing the bird more into focus not the big blue sky.

The best way to get this seen might have been to create a new post, complete with a few eagle photos and a link to this post, explaining what happened. It's been my experience that cross posts don't get much attention. They are excellent photos.

Thank you, I understand. I know that cross-posting is not accepted and at first I thought I could just delete my original post but that isn't possible is it? And by then it already had some votes on it... In any case, it's no big tragedy. I'll just have to be more careful in the future! :-)

Superb photography with both sets of birds, so good to see you back behind the lens again!

You're very kind, Joan, thanks again!

DNAgif.gif

https://peakd.com/@dna.org

Hello; @keithboone


We appreciate your work and your post was manually shared on Twitter by @papilloncharity from the DNA team!
Reach us on Discord to learn more about the project!

Thanks so much, greatly appreciated :-)

Lucky you! What stunning photos 😍

Thanks very much, I'm happy you like them! I appreciate the reblog as well :-)

Hi @keithboone, it is lovely to see your photos again. They are magnificent.

Thanks for that lovely comment, I truly appreciate it! :-)

Beautiful photos Keith.

Thanks so much and thanks for the reblog too! :-)

Most welcome Keith.

It felt so awesome to find you here old friend! Amazing shots as usual, hopefully you have been keeping well and safe ♡

Thank you and may I say I've very happy to find you here as well. I believe this is a better place! :-)

Definitely a much better place! Oh and what a joy is to know we get to explore it :)