From field to plate Rhubarb Crumble for Food Fight Friday

in #fff5 years ago

Hey folks - it's my first time entering one of these Food Fight Fridays. I remember @dandays telling me about this ages ago, but never got around to posting, so here I am now to have a go. Be gentle :o)

20190707_210937.jpg

I'll start of with a picture of the finished product for you to whet the appetite as they say. I finished off the crumble with some vanilla ice cream and a couple of fresh strawberries.

I'd love to take the credit for planting and tending to the rhubarb myself, but that's not how it happened. Actually, we were at an outdoor play centre for our boys in Ireland.

For any of you based in Ireland and in and around this neck of the woods, go check out Mellowes in Athboy. They have a great setup there with loads to keep the little ones entertained. Towards the end of our 3 hour stay, my wife and I got talking to the owner and what a lovely man he was. They plant seeds with kids on school tours and then give them to visitors free of charge when they grow, so we were given a beautiful plant to take away free of charge. It didn't end there, he told us all about his Rhubarb patch and said why don't you take some away and make a Rhubarb crumble, and I thought why not. So, this is my first ever crack at making a rhubarb crumble, and it didn't turn out too bad!

20190707_163845.jpg

Here are the rhubarb leaves before they are cut down to size.

20190707_193601.jpg

and here is them cut down to size and ready to go.

20190707_194318.jpg

The ingredients

20190707_194255.jpg

Ready to pop in the oven

20190707_201036.jpg

In the Oven

20190707_201006.jpg

Time to eat!!

20190707_211007.jpg

20190707_211025.jpg

This is an entry into Food Fight Friday https://steemit.com/fff/@foodfightfriday/food-fight-friday-round-50-07-06-19

That's it for me.

Thanks a million for reading.

Peace Out.

5cbff4f643a1e187_800.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to the Food Fight Friday Arena!! Dang!! You came in firing!! I’m just sippin on some coffee trying to brainstorm my FFF post and you hit me with this??!! OUCH!! Sounds like I might just have some ice cream for breakfast. You got my sweet tooth goin with this one!! Great now I am distracted... I had an idea for my FFF post, then this Strawberry Rhubarb crumble knocked the idea right off the top of my head.

Thanks for joining in the Food Fight
Cheers

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ha ha, Thanks a million. Really appreciate the support, I had a lot of fun throwing this together and it's even Gluten Free, as I have been trying on and off to avoid wheat and gluten, with mixed results... :o) Looking forward to seeing what you conjure up..

@ablaze, how’s it going, sir?! It’s great to hear from you again. You mentioned it’s been a long time since I first tried getting your attention so maybe it’s me (doubtful) but I’m feeling like a set of broad shoulders today. 😉

I think maybe the time lapse between our conversation got you mixed up between Wednesday and Friday.... 🤔 Ha! Hey man, welcome to the kitchen, it’s great to have you but that third F is For Wednesday Friday—we all make a mess on Fridays. I’ll see if I can get you snuck into this weeks competition, cool? :sh: Don’t tell anyone—it’s just you and I here anyway, right?

Ireland eh? Dude (I realize I’m the only person who says “dude” on this part of the globe), my wife and I are right down the street from you, we just arrived in West Yorkshire two weeks ago and will be here about a month. Is this what ya’all call “summer?!” Brrr! We’re actually taking a trip to Ireland in about two weeks—any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Thanks for tagging #fff @ablaze, this first contender of yours is what it’s all about—great job, chef! Two days early but you nailed everything else. 👍🏿

Ha ha ha, man I feel like a dope now!! Yes, Friday would make sense alright... I'll know for next time, this FFF looks like fun - I do like making a mess in the kitchen, tidying up, not so much!!

So you are in the area code, nice one.. Hope you are enjoying the trip so far... Great that you're coming to Ireland too and yep hard to believe it's summer, but the last few weeks have actually been far better than the terribly wet May and June we got over here, so hopefully the weather holds up for when you guys get over here, as biased as it may sound, there's not many places can hold a match to certain areas of Ireland when the sun shines... Before giving you guys a steer and things to do and seem how many days have you guys got?

Great entry, @ablaze.... I feel like I’m repeating myself?? There an echo-0o-oOo in here?

We’ll stay at least two days, maybe three. But we’ll definitely stay overnight. Thanks for being our inside guy. Welcome to @foodfightfriday, you sure know how to come in swingin.

@ablaze
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 51
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
03F862FB-864B-4085-BC57-4297B65CA946.gif
Good Luck

Hello there @ablaze, I thought your post was wonderful. There nothing like harvesting fresh #fruitsandvegtables and creating a master piece as you did. So happy you got into #fff, it's such a great group of people to converse with over #food or #life or #homesteading #travel and my fav #gardening.
Welcome to our #foodfightfriday, it can get messy, but so much fun.