Sort:  

I agree. I know several nurses and doctors who are very close to our family (family too) and they are generally not the most unfeeling people, quite the opposite. Yet, they have to create a separation, otherwise they will be consumed.

I think teachers are often idealists too, wanting to make a difference in an institution that rarely supports them.

I agree with you on both counts. I will say that I have the utmost respect for educators and even more when homeschooled for a short time. Although not the same as teaching under an institution, you are still responsible for that human being(s) and that thought ran my blood cold. What if I didn't do it right? What if they didn't test well, would it reflect on me and my lack of skills?

So many things. It was actually then that I realized just how much they were undervalued. My three kids did well and I can remember going to bed at night, hoping I would fail to teach a first grader, where all the foundational things are taught and learned. I said this all wrong, a busy day today, but, didn't want to leave it as it might be forgotten or buried.

Thanks again for treating each comment like it's the only one you get. You are awesome.