Hero Forge Miniatures: Alexandra Skharnova

in #figurines4 years ago (edited)

Known as "Alexandra the Conqueror," among other titles, she was a druorn of Skhara who fled the collapse of her country and headed west to found the Rhûnnish Empire. This took place two centuries after General Kazímir's time. Alexandra wasn't a direct descendant, seeing as Kazímir never had children, but she did end up inheriting several important items from him, including his sword.

Alexandra Skharnova 1.PNG

Another important heirloom was her crown, which was nothing more than a fancy circlet. A Skharan noble's head was never supposed to be bare, but for numerous reasons, diadems and similar items were the preferred headware, removed only when donning a helmet, and then not always.

Alexandra Skharnova 2.PNG

You can see the hilt of yet another sword over her right shoulder. Alexandra took as many things as she could carry when she fled Castle Holgar, most of them weapons. She carried the greatsword on her back, as she didn't intend to use it unless absolutely necessary.

Alexandra Skharnova 3.PNG

Hero Forge has a kwandao, but not a naginata, for some reason. No matter, if I ever print this, I can easily take a die grinder and remove the extra points and turn said kwandao into a naginata.

Alexandra Skharnova 4.PNG

I'll also have to make some adjustments to her hair, so that it's not intersecting the sword on her back. Then again, I may completely re-design this particular miniature such that it is more statuesque. By that, I mean that her statue is a prominent decoration of the White Keep at the centre of the Skharnograd Kremlin at the time of The Nine Empires.

Alexandra Skharnova 5.PNG

Much like my character templates, I had 2D concept art for this character. Unlike my character templates, I've never shared hers before, so here it is:

Alexandra Skharnova 6.PNG

Admittedly, I never finished it. Should I ever make the character from scratch, I expect the final result to be about halfway between the concept art and the Hero Forge miniature. Still, the White Keep statue may end up being a priority. After all, the modern Empire of Alexandria is named after this character, even though that name was never used while her dynasty was still in power, and here's why: when the Rhûnnish Empire split in half from a succession crisis, the northern portion consisted of the lands that Alexandra originally conquered, minus the dwarven lands, which joined the Bulmutian regency. In the mean time, I should probably re-design the White Keep itself, since I made the original way too large to reasonably be built out of brick. Speaking of which, the White Keep was originally red, but one of Alexandra's descendants decided to whitewash it. I'll share the re-designed castle in a future post, and it may even become the subject of a "rambling while rendering" video series.