A waiting game.

in #filmmaking4 years ago

Tonight, I stood waiting.

Stood waiting by my camera.

iirl3u.jpg

As the golden sun was beginning to set.

I think I waited about 25 minutes on a dead silent road, by myself. It was getting chilly.

ltzgwj.jpg

Keeping my eye set on some train lines in the distance.

I didn’t want to miss it.

I kept a close ear for the rattle of the tracks in the distance.

e1z1kz.jpg

All for the one shot.
For a fleeting moment in one music video.
Of a train passing through the frame.

Filmmaking makes you do strange things.

I mean, I didn’t really NEED this shot.
But I wanted it.

And I committed.

So I had to wait.

I very nearly left with nothing.
I just knew if I walked away... the train would pass.

But it pays to stick around

I got it on the end.

b7knrd.jpg

Probably won’t use it.

Sort:  

“Probably won’t use it”
Hahahaha!! Oh man I know that feeling!
Also that low battery makes me nervous!
You got it just in time!

That battery was sure on my mind but I knew it would hold out for what I needed.
The overall GH5 battery life isn’t great, sadly!

Let’s hope I like the clip enough to use, eh!

Ah cool, good job you know your equipment!!
I have never used a DSLR for filming, but compared to the 'camcorder' options I think I would love to get my hands on one!

My friend has a GH5 he uses for skate filming and swears by it.
They look amazing! He has this special fisheye setup too... So rad!

Yeah much better to have the clip and not use it than need it in the edit and have to some made last minute footage mission!

Not only does the GH5 punch way above its weight for the price range, but just over all it’s a really good camera. The images are beautiful!
No wonder your pal used it for skate work, it’s a great choice especially when used with a cage so you can grip/hold it in different ways etc