Satisfying organisation (for a relatively disorganised man)

in #filmmaking4 years ago (edited)

Keeping organised with storing video projects can be a pain.

That’s been my general attitude, so much so that over the years I’ve just not really bothered organising stuff properly.
Projects just got backed up on my big plug-in bricks under general sub header folders like ‘music video’ and ‘promo’ and that was that.

The harddrive bricks lived in a clear plastic box in which they were randomly piled high with cables all over the place and looked a bit, err, sad. And unprofessional.

I had left it so many years to properly keep on top of my data that I thought now, during lockdown, was truly a better time than any.

I’ve finished my current music video work commitments and I’m waiting on the next project to start next week.

So what better time than to do THIS with all my hard drives?

9fr5je.jpg

Over time I’ve slowly replaced my old drives for newer smaller 4TB drives and I’ve put them in an unused padded case. They’re labelled up too.

I’m really chuffed with this solution.
The drives are completely safe, all in one place and it looks the part too.

2nr5zy.jpg

I’m pleased I also spent a week or so a few months back sorting, transferring, formatting and generally loving my data.

This is what the case looked like at the start.

efp187.jpg

It’s been pretty brilliant looking back on all my old video work too.

I love being able to dip in to an old music videos and corporate jobs, seeing all the assists like raw clips or behind the scenes photos and things I had archived. Some things I completely forgot about.

I don’t tend to delete anything, really.
All the projects I’ve been paid to shoot I have kept, since about 2006.

And all the projects I’ve done for myself or family are even more precious.

It’s been a big job and shows just how far I’ve come over the years.
It’s nice to have some perspective every now and again.

Cheers for reading, @ashtv.