Trying an Alternative Strategy

in #finance4 years ago

Screenshot 20200429 at 16.44.22.png
I've been burned quite a bit from crypto so when you get a free airdrop of 7000 hive and the price then goes to 90 cent you think to yourself what a time to be alive! In all honesty when all the stuff was going on at Steem , I thought the future was bleak. I put in quite a few quid into Steem and it has gone by the waste side. What's stopping a buyer of Hive coming in and the blockchain forking again. So at the time I decided to powerdown both accounts and invest in some other coin before it takes off. I still want to post on Hive and be apart of the community but I am going to move some funds to different places first and start again building with posts instead of cash injections. Don't get me wrong, half of my earnings are from curation and posts but I am a stickler for profit. I need to get out more than I put in so I am hitting the reset button and starting again with Hive. Doing a @cryptoandcoffee. Not one cent of cash did he invest in Steem. He just grew organically. If he cashed out it is all profit but it took time and effort to get to where he is. I will do the same with Hive and start from scratch in 13 weeks. I have left myself around 500 of each coin on power up. I can make 8% interest with some coins on Binance so powering up is making me somewhat illiquid. I was wondering why there was such hoo- haa about funds being locked on Binance with Steem and I figured out the top dogs were trading quite successfully on it before the funds were locked. They were making massive returns which made me wonder whether we were just going changing one Lada for another Lada. I think this price pump stabilised Hive as it has plenty funds now to play with. But people will be watching. Already the Twitter brigade are calling it a pump and dump coin. The price has gone down but are we worth more than 20 cent right now? I like to think we are. But sometimes a community gets so caught up in themselves that they can't see the light from the trees. Take @justintron. He is after making 1.8 million bucks from the sale of Hive. For Hives greatest enemy that was some kick we gave him. I'd love if my enemies gave me 1.8 million. The guy cannot believe his luck!!
This was a major slip up whereas some prominent Steemit members who had a sock puppet in their witness votes was hung drawn and quartered. So for now I will take my money (for 13 weeks) and run but any tokens I earn will be staying here. Once the dust settles I will re-access. I haven't giving up on Steemit yet either. There are still some good folks in there , just posting as normal away from the politics. Who knows , both may prosper.

Sort:  

Same here, i powered down some hive and sold (sadly not at .8) and am powering down steem till half (leaving 10k) and selling for BTC

I did that for the last few weeks and am happy now that BTC seems to be pumping. All the bitcoin goes into my Celsius account and is making a 7% roi per year which is more then any FIAT in the bank

A man close to my own heart. Fair play mate. Im glad someone is thinking the same

It does take time to "earn" and build a following. Most of the earnings come from content creation. As a person post and as their following grows, so does the account. Posting alone however will not help an account grow. Account growth comes from interaction with the consumers, the people that leave comments.

To build an active following a person needs to sort of hit the streets, set out find stuff they like on the chain, voting and leaving comments, or finding a chat group on discord or hive chat or steem chat, or some other chat system I don't know about with a group of other Hive users and building relationships there.

A natural account growth can happen, but it does take time. I have finally gotten to the point where I can earn a little bit more curation rewards, I am liking the higher price for that, but I dis like the higher price for the slower Hive Power growth on my account, but my account still grows.

Long ago I have given up on steemit when the system was broken.
Imaging getting like 100k hive coin and was alive to see the hive coin hitting $1 that will be a lot of money