Get Set Gail: What Got Me Into Personal Finance

in #finance3 years ago (edited)

viber_image_2021-07-09_15-50-46-762.jpg

I graduated with a Bachelor's Degree in Chemical Engineering and I passed the Licensure Exams. My engineering friends have warned me about the life I was turning my back on should I venture into Financial Advising full time. I'd be lying if I said it was an easy decision. It wasn't. An old classmate insinuated about how becoming a financial advisor is "less" compared to becoming an engineer, whatever "less" meant to him. He even suggested that I was wasting my smarts by becoming "just a financial advisor."

I'd like to say that chemical engineering prepared me for the world of finance. To some, finance may be intimidating but chemical engineering trained me to eat intimidation for breakfast. Finance is so much more than personal savings and expenses. It's also about risk management and insurance; understanding market behavior and investing fundamentals.

Did I regret making this career switch? So far, I'm enjoying the ride 😎


IMG_8524.jpg

I was into personal finance even before I met AXA and Hive but I didn't know if I could make a career out of it. The opportunity came when I went into a FAMI Mutual Funds Seminar and Ma'am Sonia Nery kindly explained to me what a Financial Advisor does. She got me thinking how unprepared I was when it came to planning for the unexpected events in my life - sickness and death of my loved ones. What I loved even more was when she introduced me to the Tan Dynasty Community and how they slowly made me realize my limiting beliefs when it came to handling money.

It was obvious that I was already sold to the team culture and the noble profession of being a financial advisor. There was one problem though, how was I supposed to approach people when I considered myself as an introvert?

Well, I met Jhonny Villacorta, our current Unit Head. He was the most extroverted finance guy I have ever met. And you know what they say about introverts making friends? You just stick to your extroverted friends and let them do the extroverted things for you 😆 I was inspired by his passion for finance and it gave me the energy to step outside my comfort zone and do things I never thought an introverted girl can do. I'm glad I did because I wouldn't have met Shanna Tai, Emil Pegarido and the rest of the Tan Dynasty siblings if I remained in my comfort zone.

Looking back, it wasn't just me who did all the magic. It was a team effort. Let me take this time to appreciate all of you ❤️


viber_image_2021-07-09_12-24-35-649.jpg

Some people think that finance is boring, in addition to being intimidating. To those, I clap back with "Only if you let it!" When you take finance personally, we can design your financial plan is such a way that you'll set yourself up for financial success. This is what Get Set Gail is all about.

I see it as a collection of stories, life hacks and mostly experiences that involve financial matters. I can't promise anyone that it's going to make you rich, but I will promise that we will all have fun while tackling finance. Hope you stick around for that :)

Sort:  

Took @adamada's advice and made use of this space 😊

I think you can still edit the post and title to make it work. Unless you intended to use the leofinance frontend for the content? I will have to downvote this if you're planning to make a different post to return the rewards to the pool.

I made a noob mistake with Engrave. I intended to copy my peakD post to Engrave, not knowing that what I post to the latter will also be posted here. So, it was late when I realized that my content was copied here. I wanted to delete the post, but I knew just now that was impossible 😅

You can still edit the post and put the entire content here just so the slot doesn't get wasted and looked like clutter on the frontend. I won't downvote the post if you would edit it like that but if you completely abandoned the post slot I will.

Okay, thank you! will whip out a post! Thank you :)

Hi again, good thing Hive lets us introverts act like extroverts through posts, comment, etc. i also lists finance and money among my main interests. Something really caught my eye and that was that hive savings gives 10%, yet I've looked at many different hiver's wallets, and noone puts any hive there. why is that? do u think it's NOT a good idea to keep hive there? what is the best place do u think?

thanks :)

Because human nature likes instant gratification, many people prefer to be liquid

Placing HBD in your savings wallet has the incentive of 10% annually, it beats inflation almost 2x here in the PH. Investing is always a good idea, so long as you make sure to invest only money that you don't need by now.

cool. so right now i am building up my HP, but when I have enough, I will save some in my hive savings..

thanks :)