You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The story of Mr. Renhe Ren

in #finishthestory5 years ago (edited)

Well... tis is the second ending I read in which the poor Mr. Renhe Ren looks quite foolish. Can I infer that meditation seems to be a waste of time for many of you?
Perhaps, without his long period of asceticism and introspection, he could not even have learned that calm and that detachment he shows at the end of your story

Sort:  

In other stories I've read, meditation is equivalent to inaction: a retreat from the conflict (and from social interactions). From an outside perspective that might be correct... Personally I don't think meditation is only that.

In this ending of mine, meditation is just a cool superpower: it's time travel to the future! Whoooosh! 😎

I think what makes Mr. Renhe Ren seem foolish is not his decision to meditate, but the reason behind that decision. In his rage and frustration he blindly trusted a saying he didn't fully understand.

I love your criticism and contrarian attitude here. Two of your best traits, together with the effort to deliver original contents, that always make it hard for me to place you out of the podium (but this time brisby is judging).