The Amazing Bird of Paradise (Strelitzia)

in #flowers5 years ago

We have had this plant in our garden for over 15 years, and this is the first time it has bloomed.

How can a plant mimic a bird.
Nature is so full of wonderful surprises.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Hello
Very beautiful flower.
I will save the photo and show it to friends.

Thank you my friend. She is Gorgeous isn't she 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Those plants make me think of Southern California, but you might not be here, since it took a full 15 years for them to bloom...

Very pretty, thanks for sharing.

They are originally from southern Africa.
I beleive. We are just off the coast of Morocco.
We have very hard ground here and it take time for the roots to get established. But it has been a long wait.But very worth it 😁

Thanks for the knowledge, we have a lot of those around here, and I assumed they were Native.