Using Flowers From my Garden to Create a Marvelous Gift

in #flowers4 years ago

IMG_20200605_150909.jpg

It is my sister's friend's birthday today and since she is feeling a little down due to all the social unrest lately, I decided to make her something as well to put a smile on her face. Lots of plants are in bloom right now so I have a bountiful array of options to work with.

IMG_20200605_142805.jpg

This is part of our front yard flower garden. There you can see some Rosas de Castillo blooming. They always bloom in May. Our plant in the back yard almost didn't make it in time but still bloomed on the last day of May. It has larger flowers.

IMG_20200605_142332.jpg

My little rose that I brought back from the forest has thousands of small flower buds that are beginning to open as well.

IMG_20200605_142300.jpg

The plant itself is getting very large but it provides some nice shade for a little sitting spot underneath it.

IMG_20200605_142313.jpg

Besides these special roses, I also added some cuttings from these common types that you'd find for sale in garden centers. Their flowers still needed more time before they opened but they look pretty in the bouquet even in their partially bloomed state.

IMG_20200605_142726.jpg

Another large flower that I added to the bouquet are a couple of Chinese peonies that my friend Wang gave us (yes, the same Wang who gave me the beans I often post about).

IMG_20200605_142829.jpg

I added a few white blossoms whose names I do not know. They have leaves whose petioles curl around our front porch banister, helping it to climb. I also forgot to photograph the spiderwort flower spike that I added. I remember when we took that plant from a nearby beach in Indiana.
The time soon comes when I will give away this gift. I hope she likes it; I put lots of love and effort into it. It is the first bouquet I've ever made (and it was hard to de-thorn the roses).
Got to go now!
See you all tomorrow!