Ah Lovely.. Mould Blooming in the Apartment. History Repeats Itself?

in #fml4 years ago (edited)

After the freak rainfall 3 days ago here in central Canada which lead to a good 5 inches of water making in to the basement apartment where I live it seems what I predicted would happen has started as of today. The house in which my apartment is located has a foundation that is in poor shape and it seemingly has a few leaks in it. A leak behind the stove here already had a small patch of black mould and one in the maintenance / laundry room in the concrete foundation wall was pissing in water when the storm hit. Unfortunately with the already existing (albiet manageable) mould problem in the house and the introduction of so much water into the walls it's taken it upon itself to begin spreading in the walls at the level the flood waters rose to inside.

While had already started packing things up today it's a mad dash to get everything into bags to prevent it from contaminating my stuff. After going through a very similar situation a few years back in my old house I know all to well that once that shit starts going it's only a matter of a few days before the place is completely ununhabitable.

To top things off my right ankle is showing signs of infection similar to the infection I had in my legs a few years back that forced me to take multiple rounds of IV antibiotics. The same dull ache and redness is occuring, but makes sense considering I was wading through disgusting swamp water for the better part of a day trying to save what I could from the flood waters. Had a few anit-fungal pills laying around and some anti fungal cream which I'm applying liberally to try and stave off my feet getting eaten off while I pack the remainder of my things and find a place to stash them.

Seems that a new place to go has been found although I don't know the details of it. I've been quite sick the past few days and fallen behind on what I was supposed to be doing.. Oh well, no sense getting upset about this shit.. Just have to power on through and hopefully my health remains good until I can afford time to go into the hospital to go get some medication for this ankle assuming it gets worse. Trying to keep things clean and dry in an apartment that just flooded is nearly impossible but given the rate in which this mould bloom is happening I've only got a day or two to get everything out of here else it's all going to be trash.

Sorry no pictures or anything of what's going on. Currently don't have a camera or phone handy to take pictures.. Although once the wife unit comes back to the apartment I'll snap some picks on her phone and upload them.


image.png

Vote KLYE for Witness, Every Single Vote Helps, Thanks for the Support!

Need to get in Contact with KLYE?
Join the Official #KLYE Discord Server Today!


image.png
Looking for an Affordable, Secure & Reliable Server Host for Your Witness Server or Other Web Related Projects? Check out Privex.io!

Sort:  

Sorry to hear mate. I hope things pick up for you soon, your ankle is better, you find a solid new place and are back on your feet in no time!

Thanks man.. Fucking stressful times for sure.. hate moving, hate mould and hate being sick.. Fuck this shit.

Yeah mould makes you sick, especially when there is a lot and you have been around it for a while. It will be alright.