Akara

in #food4 years ago

Akara

WEST AFRICAN BEAN PANCAKES



akara.JPG

This weekend I decided to make some akara, which is a kind of bean cake, or bean 'pancake' if you will, since it's fried in a pan as opposed to baked in a oven. There is actually an oven baked version of this using basically the same ingredients.

It's a pretty simple meal to make once you know how, but it's very delicious. It's traditionally eaten for breakfast with some kind of cornmeal, but can also be taken on its own like I did.

It's naturally vegetarian, but can be enhanced with animal products to taste. There's a Brazilian version of this known as "Acarajé", which is slightly more elaborate.

Vegetarian

Beans
Peppers
Chillies
Onion
Salt
Oil

+

Non Vegetarian

Crayfish
Eggs

gifakara.gif

The ingredients are blended into a thick paste and placed into a hot frying pan of oil. Deep frying creates crunchier akara, but you can also flatten them out so they're more like pancakes rather than balls. They are also eaten as a snack, especially when fried as small balls with lots of crumbs.

They taste so good that they're easy to overeat. The ingredients are basic and healthy, but they are fried after all, so much moderation is needed :)

akara2.JPG

Peace & Love,

Adé

Sort:  

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated by @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on PEAKD.com and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thank you so much.

What a simple recipe! I might have to try that. We have been eating a pescatarian diet, but mostly vegetarian, so I’m looking for recipes. I would probably try it as a pancake with a light amount of oil to see if I can get away with it. 😁

It's so simple even I can make it haha. Turns out a lot of the food I grew up eating is vegetarian + meat or fish. That is, you can just not add the animal protein and it'd still pretty much be the same thing.

That's super cool! I think that's the sign of a good recipe anyway - adaptable for palates and food preferences. (Where did you grow up, by the way?)

Everywhere :) - I was in a different country every year or two, moving around with my parents international jobs. Spent a lot of time in different African countries as well as the US; Rhode Island and NYC.

Wow! Such an international jet setter. I didn't know you ever lived in the U.S. But you feel like the UK is your true home?

I use chickpea flour to make something very like this in my home, but I don't deep fry them!

I can imagine that'd be delicious too. I like chickpeas too :)