RUSSIAN CREAM CHEESE BUNS - VATRUSHKI!

in #food8 years ago

A Vatrushka is a Russian/Ukrainian cheese bun that is filled with a filling on the outside. Vatrushki are sweet  pastries made with a yeast dough and filled with cheese filling. They are my absolute favourite childhood treat. 

Plump, sweet, fragrant vatrushkas are a perfect fit for your holiday table as well as your daily cup of tea. When the cheese filling is sweetened, raisins or  dry/fresh fruits can be added to create a more interesting flavor. 


Ingredients :

250 ml OR 1 Cup of milk

250 gr OR 2.5 cups of plain flour

50 gr OR 1/2 stick of melted butter 

2 eggs

100 gr OR 1/2 cup sugar

2 tbsp of sour cream 

7 gr 1 pack of dry fast action yeast

2 tsp of oil 

0.5 tsp of salt


For the filling :

250 gr of farmers cheese/ tvorog - dry cottage cheese / ricotta cheese

250 gr of cream cheese 

1 egg

1 tbsp of vanilla extract 

2-3 tbsp of sugar

1-2 tbsp of flour

raisins ( optional) 

Directions: 

Step 1 : Add your fast action dry yeast into luke warm milk with sugar and mix through. Set aside for 15 min so yeast starts to activate. 

Step 2 : Into a large bowl, add your milk and yeast mixture, eggs, melted butter, sour cream and half the flour. Mix the dough and then add the rest of the flour with salt. Add flour onto your working surface, you have to kneed the dough for a little bit. If its too wet, add a bit more flour. Place the dough back into the bowl, but make sure you add a bit of oil into the bowl. Cover with towel and leave to raise and double in size for an hour or more. This depends on your kitchen and how warm it is. 

Step 3 : Whisk cream cheese, cottage cheese, egg, vanilla, sugar and flour together for the filling. Optionally, you can add raisins to the filling. I used half and half.  

Step 4 : Once your dough has risen, place in onto the floured surface, pinch a small ball and roll into a nice flat shape. Place them onto your baking sheet. Using a cup press unto each dough to create a whole in the middle. Fill each hollow with a filling. Leave to raise for another 30 min. 

Step 5 : Coat your dough with egg wash all around. 

Step 6 : Bake in preheated oven at 180 C/ 350F for about 30 minutes or until golden brown. Enjoy hot or cold with tea or coffee.

Watch the full video here : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MbDFk-CpprI&index=4&list=PLNc1nYNd_jcJIAfB7TrxDCXMFZuuZXYRO

Don't forget to follow me! Lots of love Alla xoxo

Sort:  

Those look... yummy!

hehe thanks :))

I have to try these!

yes for sure they are soo yummy!!

My Lord !! they look scrumptious !! my mouth is watering just looking at them creamy little buns !! ; - ) nice post the photos are top class really !!

heyya!! thanks a lot! I take all my pictures myself, and I love food photography! :)

well me too, but less than eating the subject after the photos are done !! would loved to give you a hand with those scrummy cream buns of yours for sure !! I guess i will just continue to lick my screen !! ; - )

looks amazing! Thank you for sharing ! Steem ON

heheh you are welcome :))) Are you coming to steem fest?

I am going to make some of these for sure!

sounds good, let me know when you do :)

OK!
:))

I love those :P

heheh me too ;))

Oh these look splendid!! They are getting made without a doubt!

heheh sounds awesome :)

Those look like Kolaches, which we used to get in Texas all the time, but which I can never find on here in NC.
http://www.nytimes.com/2013/10/09/dining/the-kolache-czech-texan-or-all-american-all-three.html?_r=0

They are not the same, but i know what you mean, looks similar and the idea is the same :) hehe

Ohhh will look out for these next time I am in Russia

Yes do , they will be mostly sold in all supermarkets and street vendors :) enjoy!

These look a lot like cheese blintzes, which I love.