Alona Makes: Steak Chateaubriand (How To)

in #food7 years ago

mmexport1498910099105.jpg

I really like to cook steak and this style is one of my favorites. Steak Chateaubriand refers to the brown sauce that comes with the steak. Even though there are many ingredients it is not too hard to make.

         Ingredients:
  1. The middle of the tenderloin
  2. Veal stock
  3. Butter
  4. Shallots
  5. Mushrooms
  6. Parsley
  7. Tarragon
  8. Bay Leaves
  9. Thyme
  10. Brandy
  11. Wine
  12. Salt and Pepper
  13. Buerre maitre d'hotel
  14. Olive oil

mmexport1498910149110.jpg

Make sure to pick a good piece of meat.

mmexport1498910144327.jpg

After cutting the meat into 3-4 centimeter slices I let them marinate in a mix of olive oil, kosher salt, and lemon juice. I let them stay in here for 6 hours.

mmexport1498910140264.jpg

During the marinating I made the Buerre maitre d'hotel. This is just butter smashed together with a bit of sugar and chop parsley. After smashing it, I made it into a roll using my hands and plastic wrap and put it into the refrigerator.

mmexport1498910134272.jpg

In a sausepan I put butter, dice shallots, sliced mushrooms, tarragon, bay leafs, thyme, brandy, and wine also veal stock and turned the heat to maximum to create a reduction. I want it to reduce about 90% of the volume.

mmexport1498910128816.jpg

Here it is all reduced. Now I take a strainer and strain the liquid into another bowl. This is basically a Chateaubriand sauce.

mmexport1498910120563.jpg

I use the same hot pan and add a bit more butter. When it cracks I add the steak. I like my steak rare so just a minute or two on each side.

mmexport1498910114075.jpg

Flipping some hot butter into the steaks. I saw this on T.V.

mmexport1498910109447.jpg

You need to let the steak rest after you take it off the pan. This is so the juice does not leak out. Also it gives you time to prepare the plate. First get a plate, and then go to get the buere maitre d'hotel we made earlier. Slice off a circle from the log.

mmexport1498910104919.jpg

A tablespoon of sauce, add the butter disk, and add some more sauce and a pinch of tarrain. Voila! Steak Chateaubriand.

Thank you for experiencing this with me. If you enjoyed this lesson please like and follow, it means a lot to me!

Sort:  

Really looking yummy, would have loved to make myself some of those, but getting most of those ingredients where I live will be next to impossible.

This is one of my favorite steak dishes. Great job explaining it, now I can try on my own :)

Damn, I need some of that!!

If I could eat that every day I wouldn't have to live long to die a happy guy.

After this...I think to have salad tomorrow ;)

Haha ye.. Why not both? :P

Tasty! That's dinner sorted

I also enjoy cooking steak. Grilling back home was the best.

I love cooking steak too, I will try this recipe, or at least very close to it ;-)