Last Year's GARDEN Grovid 20 Update!

in #food3 years ago (edited)

IMG_2625.JPG

I was gone from Hive for a bit, during last year. A lot of the pandemic, I was focused on other issues. I had started to blog about my Garden, with a few posts called Grovid 20, in response to Dreemsteem's call to answer the growing craziness about Covid 19!

This time last year, my container gardens looked like this:

IMG_2111.JPG

IMG_0122.JPG


I spent some time, and effort, planting and sowing seeds in Late Feb, and Early March, in my house, under grow lights. Tomato, Pepper, Zucchini, Peas, some herbs, and more. Some plants, I would later direct sow into containers outside. Some, I would plant again, later, for a second harvest...


IMG_2652.JPG
Roma Tomatoes, on the vine

IMG_2725.JPG
Baby Spinach


IMG_2724.JPG
Sweet Pepper
, Orange, Yellow, Green Bell, and one chocolate Pepper!

IMG_2654.JPG
A random sample week's harvest, last summer. Baby Carrot (it was a container variety, so shorter and fatter), some Chocolate Pepper, red sweet, cucumbers, yellow sweet pepper, first potato, (bowl of raspberries, which, btw, was typically a daily bowl full, much each day, at peak. I made some raspberry jelly, as well as fresh for eating daily), beans and snow peas, cherry and grape tomato, roma, and some zucchini!

IMG_0121.JPG
Weekly Tomato Harvest, Weekly Carrot

IMG_2727.JPGEnd of season potato, both Red Bliss, and Yukon Gold (and a couple of sneaky carrot!)

In all, I planted about US $35 worth of seeds. I probably had about 50 pounds of Potato, about 25 zucchini, a couple dozen cucumber, about 40 cherry tomato a week (figure about 10 pounds total) a few dozen Roma tomato, about 100 peppers, a few pounds of beans and snow peas.

I have really no good way to guess at my spinach. I did a few plantings, in 6 or eight pots, of spinach and lettuce. I would harvest daily for salads, each day, all season. Most of my herbs, I used fresh, in my cooking, although, at the end fo the season, I brought inside one sage, one thyme, one basil and the rest? Tons of Dried Basil, and Parsley.

UPDATE: also, grew some corn, pumpkins, a ton of Raspberries and some strawberries. On my street, grows wild blueberries, and beach plum, that I pick.



I am certain, I am forgetting something, in all the time that has drifted on past

I will do better for 2021! I have my seeds ready
Started my potato starts to get them chitting (the eyes growing)
and ready for planting.
Stay Tuned for garden 2021 Updates!

#SaveLiveEventsNow

2020... a wild and woolly year, if ever there was one. My entire industry (Special Events) was shut down on 13 March and hasn't been back yet. Personally, I am ok, but so many of my colleagues and friends are struggling with bills, paying for food and rent, medical and health insurance.


Always, I strive to give back

To the animals and birds around me

to put more plants in than I take out

And be a good steward for the world around me!

All Photos by Bluefin Studios.



Bluefin Studios


Bluefin Studios is a photographer, specializing in wildlife, nature, landscapes, waterfalls and Lighthouses!

Sort:  

Your garden was doing great!!!

This really proves that all it takes to achieve something is just to Kickstart it.

The picture you posted about the containers and how they were initially filled with snow made me to wonder how these farm products of yours were able to survive that type of environment. It must have been a pretty tug of war but they came out victorious.

Working in the farm is not as easy as people put it because it demands a lot of care but I'm just noticing that it also demands a lot of close observation because I wouldn't have been able to differentiate most of those farm products by just looking at their leaves. On your case, you had a name attached to every single one of them and that is a very interesting thing

The harvest was a bountiful and fruitful one and I believe that you will reap more in your next harvest

the snow was before I moved it all outside. Once I moved the plants outside, I also moved the little labels I have for them. See? inside, they start from seed and have a little tag with them.
IMG_2261.JPG

Ahaaa... That's also a display of how dedicated you are to this.

The labelling will make it easier for you to identify them from CHILDhood stage 🤐🤐🤣

Agriculture is not an easy thing to do

This is impressive sir. Your harvest looks ripe, fresh and juicy especially the roma tomatoes! The pandemic made you shift focus and concentrate on your vegetable garden. These pictures are lovely. I can't wait for garden 2021 updates! 😄

Remind me tomorrow, to explain SteembasicIncome.
I just sent 1 HIVE unit to @steembasicincome in your name.
It means, that your posts will begin getting upvotes from SBI, soon.

Wow! Really?! Awesome!! 😄
This is so cool! Thank you sir.
Will certainly remind you tomorrow! 👏👏👏