Potato Potahto

in #food4 years ago (edited)

The Next Steps


Last post on my gardens, I talked about Seed Starting, this time, I'd like to show you my first attempt at potatoes.

I've picked two kinds, some Yukon Golds, and some Red Bliss, both domestic potatoes. I stored them in cool, dark places, and after a while, I start to see some sprouts, coming from the eyes. These are the most important steps.

Chitting!



Chitting is encouraging the eyes to start to sprout new growth. If you still want to eat the spuds, all you do is cut off these sprouts, there's nothing wrong with your potatoes. However, I want to encourage this growth, and when it gets to be about 3/4 of an inch (2 cm), that's when it's time, as long as as the soil is warm enough, to plant them.

Note, above, I have the growth I want on the Yukon Golds.. but not quite on the red bliss.

IMG_1965.JPG

We have a lot of leftover pine 1x3, 4, 6's and 2x4's. Lots of ends, odd pieces, etc., so I set about building a couple of planter boxes.

IMG_1969.JPG
Added about 3 inches (10cm) of a mix of 1/2 gardening soil, 1/4 manure, and 1/4 peat. This is the root layer.

IMG_1971.JPG

Space in my four Yukon golds, with plenty of room between.

IMG_1973.JPG

Top with 6 inches, about 20 cm, of more spoil mix. This is the area where a couple of potatoes will grow out of each lower planted potato. Once you see a bit of greenery start to poke through, add 3 more inches of soil on top. The bricks in the above image are placeholders, until I can add in the Red Bliss at their correct root level. I'll back fill over top of the red bliss and the planter box will be evenly covered in soil.


In theory, out of each potato, another three will grow over top. In theory, again, it's possible to have "two harvests" before winter's hard freeze.

The plan is for tomatoes, peppers, peas, cucumbers, carrots, the two types of potatoes, a fall/winter planting of Brussels Sprouts, along wiht some herbs growing including oregano, parsley, thyme, mint, dill, and whatever else strikes my fancy!
Stay Tuned, next garden post, I'll show you... some possible seeds germinating?


Always, I strive to give back

To the animals and birds around me

to put more plants in than I take out

And be a good steward for the world around me!

All Photos by Bluefin Studios.








Bluefin Studios


Bluefin Studios is a photographer, specializing in wildlife, nature, landscapes, waterfalls and Lighthouses!



Banners Made by - @BluefinStudios

Sort:  

Damn. My red potatoes looked just like yours yesterday. Who knew they were ready to plant? Mine ended up as french fries (chips) for fish and ..

They were good, even if I did waste the chance to propagate them...

They're still good!
AND TASTY

Nice job! I think we all must start doing this... or else we risk starvation if the supermarkets close for a few weeks! 🙄

I have had a garden for years now. Only recently started adding more vegetables.

i so agree! he actually inspired me to see if i can get some seeds through amazon :)
i used to grow from seed a while ago - but you know... times - they change
now they're changing back! hehehe

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, even on HIVE I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Sorry, no beers or deranged or trdo yet... waiting on steem-engine to make the move to HIVE...

I asked the hubby about growing too - told him about what you're doing!

he said "no, you kill everything"
he is right - but i want to try again!
hehehehe

why don't you just come here and set up our garden for us?
and... manage it - everyday?

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE

happy to plow, sow seed, and take care of anyone's fertile gardens

I love potatoes! Maybe you send me some here in Pennsylvania if you have an event here in the future!

thank you for sharing this on #pypt