i ♥ Food – Adobo

in #food5 years ago (edited)

“One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.” ― Virginia Woolf, A Room of One's Own!

text15.png

Hello Steemit Fretz!

This food was taken during my visit in Boracay. The place is called Sunny Café and they offer breakfast dishes. This time I ordered adobo.

I was quite surprised that the rice is colored orange.

The poached eggs were also pretty as well. Too bad I wasn’t able to take a picture when I sliced through those eggs, they’re quite a sight to see.

Dish wise, I am not a fan of salty flavors. The dish was a bit salty for me but overall it was a good meal.

text15.png

Adobo’s Diverseness

Adobo is from the Spanish term “adobar” which means seasoning, sauce or marinade. This dish is very popular around the Philippines. The traditional process of cooking is composed of seafood, meat (pork or chicken), veggies that is marinated in soy sauce, vinegar, black peppercorns and garlic. They are cooked until brown, then simmered and marinated.

All over the Philippines, Pinoys have their own artistic way of cooking adobo. Other parts of the country cook it with soup or no soup. Some have it sweetened and some have it salty.

Why is this so? My country has over 7,000 islands. We have unique and diverse cultures, this is why this most cooked dish has unique versions of it in every place.

It’s quite amazing how this dish can impact a whole country! Have a great day my fretz!

text15.png

Sort:  

Looks yummy and healthy! :)

Thanks. It is truly yummy. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @dawnsheree! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 12000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 13000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

This seems to be easy done and it also seems to be healthy.

It must be healthy. Thanks for dropping by. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Love the slicing of the bananas!

Glad you love them. ^^

Posted using Partiko Android

Looks lovely! I quite like salty flavour but it can be overdone.

...

@steemitbloggers has evolved! We are now the #PowerHouseCreatives

....

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. We all have preferences. ^^

Posted using Partiko Android

Is that bananas on the side?
Hmmmm, I don't think I've ever seen it served like that....
Interesting :)
The orange rice though, is very common here, so not as surprised as I am with those Bananas... if they are indeed bananas :D

Those are bananas. :) the orange rice I've never had tried eating everyday so I was quite intrigued by it. :)

Does the orange rice have a name?

Posted using Partiko Android

Screenshot 2019-01-24 at 11.15.57 AM.png
That's chicken Biryani... the colour of the rice comes from saffron
Biryani is normally made with long grained rice
But yours looks more like tomato rice
Screenshot 2019-01-24 at 11.17.59 AM.png
See, told you we have lots of orange rice here hahaha
We also have yellow rice and blue rice .... all just rice with different flavours that give it the colour :D

Wow! Now you make me curious about the blue rice! Hhhahaha If I can still bug you into it maybe you can show me that as well.

Those dishes you showed me looks so scrumptious.

Screenshot 2019-01-24 at 9.19.03 PM.png
Tadah! On the side you see the herbs as well as the different sauces. It's all mixed together before you eat it. In some states they have this for breakfast. The chicken, fish, meats can be added but the original is just the rice and the herbs and veggies with the spicy sauce.
The colour comes from the Butterfly Pea Flower
Screenshot 2019-01-24 at 9.20.45 PM.png

Boom! @kaerpediem That looks yummy as well! I've never tried but I just saw the blue rice from one of my friends on social media. I guess we also have that here.

I'd love to give it a try! Thanks for sharing this dish!

You are most welcome 😊

That looks so good. How's your Boracay trip? Did you enjoy? Thanks for sharing this with us!

Thanks for dropping by. My solo trip did well. This was taken last summer before boracay closed down.

Posted using Partiko Android

I actually haven't had adobo before even though I've heard of it... Looking forward to trying it - looks good! Not a too salty one though... lol

Hahahaha. ^^you should give it a try. You'll love it. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

That is a new take on adobo from Boracay. I can't seem to determine..... is it pork or chicken? The poached egg by the way is a great addition as a variation from the boiled egg.

It's from a cozy cafe there. Will make a post about it if my schedule is lighter. :)

Honestly, I totally forgot what it was, if it's pork or chicken. It looks chicken though. Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

It looks so delicious, I love porch eggs as well, like you said, when cut open the view is amazing

I totally agree with you! Hahaha! I've never tried cooking one though. I better do that one of these days!

Then you have to show us!

How long have you been a part of the powerhousecreatives? How lovely to see you there! I never knew <3

The orange rice is quite mind boggling but those poached eggs do look mighty fine. Perfectly done. Aside from the salty part, I am glad you had a good dish :)

I did enjoy it. Thank you

@foxyspirit I've been here like a few days before you got accepted! :) I was gone a while so wasn't able to come back. Was able to drop by and let them know that I'm gone. ^^

It's awesome that we are on the same team! xx

hi... that picture totally makes me feel good... nice to see... what camera have you use?