You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ResQuing Food

in #food4 years ago (edited)

In France, there is a law that limits food waste since several years. Stores must lower prices on short dates (-35%, -50%) to limit unsold items.
Unsold items that are still consumable are offered to charitable organizations such as Resto du Coeur, Secours Populaires or Action Contre la Faim. In exchange, the stores receive a tax deduction.
It's win-win.

Translation from French, I hope you understand everything.

image.png

Sort:  

I don’t think it’s the law here but many stores have -30% etc sales on items that are gonna expire that day. My mom told me some religious organisations and charities go and buy those items to give then to the poor. But from what I know, stores don’t give out expiring foods to them for free.