You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ResQuing Food

in #food4 years ago

My brother and his wife have a fruit and vegetable store near them that pack up produce near the end of its life into big wooden crates and they sell them for $6 each. My bro buys them and they process the food and it equates to about two weeks of produce for them. They make soups or whatever and freeze them. It's smart. A similar thing to what you're doing here.

As far as I know there's nothing like that App here, but there could be. The issue is insurance I guess...Supermarkets here destroy food before throwing it into dumpsters so the homeless can't get it. They're afraid of litigation. Smaller stores do a little more ResQ stuff and there's a group that collects food and feeds the homeless with it.

Moving forward I think more will embrace it but it's cool you scored some bread. It seems like a great, very easy way, to save some bucks and prevent wastage.

Nice work Eve.

...someone who happens to really like bread!

We have this in common...Among other things. :)

Sort:  

I think we might have the same kind of vegetable service in Helsinki. I’d definitely be ordering if we had the same here.

I really like that restaurants are starting to sell the buffet leftovers for cheap too. I know how it feels to work in a restaurant and throw food into a bin every single day. We’d obviously try to take what we can home but there is so much of it.

I think it's irresponsible to throw good food out as you say. I have a few friends that own cafes and they have arrangements with groups to take the food and distribute it to underprivileged. Seems so logical, and yet supermarkets do not...And consumers pay for the wastage.

I’m pretty sure it was actually illegal not too long ago to sell or even give out food that was about to expire soon. Grocery stores literally could not even feed the extra food to pigs!

Yep, same as here. It's dumb.